We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, very busy place! Loved the Curry Fries!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   175 W 7th St, Saint Paul, MN 55102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Saint Paul
Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Location, very busy place! Loved the Curry Fries!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

The location of this hotel is fantastic. So much to do right around the area. We were there going to La Traviata at the Opera house. It's location is right across from the Excel Energy Center, The Science Museum is right down the Street. Several bars right in the area. We also had our engagement pictures taken around down town St. Paul and that was fun. The hotel was very busy along with the Liffy Bar that is right down stairs. It was the State Hockey Tournament so their were families everywhere. I imagine the guests change quite a bit depending on what is going on in the area. We ordered room service and had the cheese tray and curry fries and they were perfect pre-opera food. The room was pretty average and ours over looked Excel Energy Center it was fun to watch the very busy street. The staff was courteous and was very helpful in getting us a cab to the opera...It was to cold in March to walk there even though it is within walking distance. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    84
    50
    27
    6
See reviews for
31
56
12
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
DDsHouse
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

I stayed here in June for a business event at the Xcel Center. Location was great, within walking distance. Hotel was clean but seemed outdated. Bathroom was dirty upon check-in, hair on the floor and toilet seat needed wiped down. Bed was comfy but the walls and doors are EXTREMELY thin and you can hear everything in the hallway at all hours of the night. My door lock didn't seem to work too well, had to pull the door shut hard to get it to lock. Food in the Liffey was good. Overall it's a Holiday Inn. Don't expect anything more and you'll be satisfied.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end of the hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose
Top Contributor
334 reviews 334 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

We arrived early, got checked in early and had a supberb view of the Cathedral. The girls on reception treated us like friends and were real role models for how all hotel receptions should be. The room was spotlessly clean with plenty of space. We used The Liffey restaurant and bar attached to the hotel, and found the food average, but the prices a bit high, same applies to the bar. On our 4-week trip, this was one of the more expensive places to eat and drink, and not particularly brilliant for food.

Room Tip: Ask for a Cathedral view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

stayed 2 nights had a family wedding in downtown St. Paul. Picked this hotel for convenience and based on other good reviews, plus we got a pretty good value. This hotel has it all for location. Right across the street from the events center. Walking distance to several restauraunts. We walked to the Science Museum and also walked down to the River where there is a nice path to walk on. The church where our family event was only 3 blocks walk also. Very convenient.

We did get a good value on our hotel room. The room was clean, bed was comfy & 4 pillows on each bed to choose from. Fridge in the room nice to have but didn't use it. Kids liked the pool (even tho it's a bit small) and hot-tub was nice. Restuarant on site ( the Liffy) is really nice & got a good value for breakfast with the Kids Eat Free deal.

The only thing that bothered me is that the beds (in the Double Bed rooms) are indeed Doubles, not Queen size. Not a huge deal, I just didn't realize until I got there. The rooms are very small, so I'm sure Doubles is all they can fit? Bathroom is small with very little counter space to put your things. I couldn't connect to the free wii-fii. Probably not any fault of the hotel, signal appeared to be strong, just couldn't connect. Otherwise we were very satisfied with our stay. They have a shuttle that runs all day & will bring you to any downtown location for free, which is a nice touch.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Comfy beds. Clean hotel. Very convenient to the Rivercentre. The bar/restaurant, the liffey, is decent. Staff is so nice. they make a killer drink! get some ginger cucumber with vodka. They also have a gluten free menu. That rocks. hotel room was fine. maybe a tad pricey for what you get

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

This is a nicely updated, recently renovated Holiday Inn with comfortable bedding, multiple pillow options (always a plus in my book), flat screen television, and free wi-fi in tthe rooms. There also is a small fridge in the room. My room faced the parking ramp and was on a lower floor, and early in the morning I woke (an hour earlier than intended) to the sound of garbage loading, or other maintenance/supply type tasks. Later one evening a loud group of folks going to or from the parking garage from the lobby could easily be heard through the closed window. That aside, the hotel is a great value for the location and amenities. Small pool and small fitness room on-site, comfortable bar/restaurant attached. Parking is an additional daily charge in the adjacent garage, for a reasonable (by downtown metro standards) charge. I would recommend this hotel to others and stay again, particularly if attending events at the Excel Center across the street. The Science Museum also is within a block's walk. Great neighborhood for a morning jog just up the hill down Summit Avenue, and you have easy access to all the great shops and restaurants on Grand Avenue as well.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, North Dakota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

We picked this hotel because of its location near the Science Museum of Minnesota. The rooms were nice, the front desk staff was excellent. The parking attendant was a little grouchy, but we didn't have to deal with him much since we were able to walk pretty much everywhere we wanted to go. We'd stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown

Address: 175 W 7th St, Saint Paul, MN 55102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that downtown St. Paul has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn Hotel St. Paul-Downtown (RiverCentre). You are in the heart of everything, business, entertainment, dining, and the arts. If you are attending a hockey game, concert or convention, you are across the street from Xcel Energy Center and The RiverCentre Convention Center. If you are visiting St. Paul on business, then you will appreciate staying within 4 blocks of Travelers, Lawson Software, Ecolab, Qwest and many more companies. Minneapolis/St. Paul International Airport, 3M's World Headquarters and the Mall of America are only minutes away. . If you are planning a family vacation, then you should stay just steps from the Science Museum of Minnesota and a short walk to the Minnesota History Center, Minnesota Children s Museum and the Ordway Center for the Performing Arts.If you want friendly, responsive service from people who care about you and appreciate your business, then you need to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Hotel St. Paul-Downtown (RiverCentre). And while you re here be sure to visit St. Paul s only authentic Irish Pub, The Liffey located in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown Hotel Saint Paul
Holiday Inn Saint Paul
Saint Paul Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.