We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Mexican!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boca Chica Taco House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Boca Chica Taco House
407 Wabasha St S, Saint Paul, MN 55107-1119
651-222-8226
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #75 of 805 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I have visited Boca Chica several times with my daughter and family. It is definitely a favorite in the Twin Cities. The decor is fantastic; you really feel as if you are back in Mexico. The food is excellent and well-priced. And then there are the margaritas!!! Whew!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    6
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
“A Gem in St. Paul”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Amazing Mexican food, always friendly service. We visit frequently and take out is quick. I wish they delivered. Love the Taco House!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Boca Chica Taco House... Meh...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I lived in Cancun for 7 years and I expected really great tacos from this sister restaurant of Boca Chica... First the service wasn't great, although this is basically fast food... It took them until the third time to get my order right... I just wanted my tacos to have the chicken & cheese... Still wasn't right but they were good... The chicken and the beef didn't really have any seasoning on it... I could have made better tacos... In fact we went to the Burrito Mercado down the street and ordered some Arrachera for me to cook on the grill tonight to make better tacos... It is decent fast food, but we thought since it was owned by the same family that owned the fancier Boca Chica restaurant across the street that it would be better... Not the day we went... Que malo tacos...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Paul, MN
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fried Flour taco's are delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I frequent this restaurant during the week for dinner between 2 jobs. They have a great variety of Mexican "fast food" at reasonable prices. They do not give tomato's unless requested but the food is good regardless. The taco burrito is wonderful but the best are the fried flour taco's, If you have 15 minutes go in and sit to eat. All the food is best nice and warm! The counter people are always pleasant and the tables are always cleaned to a T. Good parking too!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
521 reviews 521 reviews
309 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
282 helpful votes 282 helpful votes
“Good place to pick up a order, not fancy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This is the brother/sister of Boca Chica, a 48 year old family owned restaurant across the street. This is a good place to go in and get a quick order of tacos, burritos, chips and guac. It is not at all fancy, traditional kinda hard booths. Much more oriented to come in, pick up food and take it home. Food is tasty. If you want food to take home, this is a good place. If you want to sit and eat, I'd recommend going across the street.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boca Chica Taco House also viewed

 

Been to Boca Chica Taco House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boca Chica Taco House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.