We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, good service, nice ambience. Best Italian food in the area.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chianti Grill

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chianti Grill
1611 Larpenteur Ave W, Saint Paul, MN 55113-5702
(651) 644-2808
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #97 of 793 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Bus stop close to building
Shoreview, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food, good service, nice ambience. Best Italian food in the area.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Ive been to the Chianti grill several times and each time found the service very attentive and friendly and the food outstanding. The Bruschetta is amazing, the pastas top notch and the seafood quite good. They have a nice wine selection. It is a chain but has the feel of a privately owned restaurant that cares about its customers, the food and the experience.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    11
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stillwater, MN
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A sleeper”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

Looking at the location and the setting, I expected another one of the "faux-Italian" food experiences. However, I was pleasantly surprised. The menu is extensive. Didn't even know where to start! I had some traditional Italian pasta dishes, and my spouse and friends all had steak dishes. Everyone was very pleased. The steak medallions with garganzola was outstanding!
We need to get back here and try all the variety on the menu. The food was delicious for a large operation.
Downsides?? Noisy. Hard to have conversations with the din of the crowd bouncing back at us from the ceilings. Also, small tables and cramped booths. But, the food helped to get by these issues.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Paul, MN
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Wonderful dining! Good for a date or business. Amazing service- reminds you what service really is.

Good deals if you sit in the bar before 6:30- discounted drinks, flat breads (yum) and appetizers.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011 via mobile

My family and I have been here many times and keep coming back for more! The food is amazing (the Seafood Canaloni is fantastic), the service is always very good, and thr chef has come out to talk to us, even on a busy Saturday night.
Please take this review seriously... I rarely leave reviews for anything, but I was amazed to see the lack of stars and reviews. 5 stars all around!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Not bad at all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

Sunday buffet is great and the regular lunch/dinner menu was pretty good too. A few cuts above Olive Garden if you ask me

  • Visited February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chianti Grill also viewed

 

Been to Chianti Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chianti Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.