We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service, OK food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Meritage

Meritage
410 St. Peter Street, Saint Paul, MN 55102
651.222.5670
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 786 restaurants in Saint Paul
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Poor service, OK food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This restaurant is European and not in a good way. The wait staff barely acknowledges you and it takes a very long time to get your food. When abroad I will "do as the Romans do" but, I don't expect this from a restaurant back home. The breakfast I ordered was mediocre, eggs were undercooked (scrambled eggs so watery they were running down the plate) and toast was over cooked (like a crouton). Bacon was overly salty. Breakfast potatoes are fried in duck fat which is fine if you eat meat but, they don't advertise this for the benefit of vegetarian dinners. I guess I should have known better than to order American breakfast at a French restaurant but, if they can't get eggs and toast right, I don't have much hope for the rest of the menu.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    113
    32
    12
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis Mn
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Meritage merits a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Our group of four returned to Meritage for our fourth visit on June 19, 2013. Our first visit was in April 2008, and Meritage has since expanded and become even better. Meritage is one of the top two or three restaurants in St. Paul and one of the top ten in the Twin Cities.

This is a seafood restaurant with a French flair, and it does everything very well. The traditional escargot are perfect, meaning lots of garlic, butter, and bread crumbs served in a cast iron escargot pan which makes sopping up the butter very easy. The shrimps in the shrimp cocktail were huge, like small lobsters.

The Wednesday plat du jour is a fantastic trout, deboned and served with artistically placed green beans. My tender, crispy-crusted duck a l'orange was surrounded by tiny cylinders of beets and sauces I could only guess at. I'm glad the French don't frown on using bits of bread to clean up the sauces.

We shared a seductive chocolate panna cotta for desert, light but complex.

The wine list is intimidating and on the expensive side, but the list is well organized and informative.

Parking is available in the nearby Lawson Ramp.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

going to concert 6/19/13 , thought we try meritage after hearing lots of good things about it . we could not have more impressed . the ambience , the hostess , the way the staff all of them treated us , the chef came by the table and asked how everything was . everything we ordered was fantastic and our waiter chris was great, he worked really hard to make the evening special for us and he did , thank you .

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Paris in St. Paul”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Best food, alive ambience, great wine, attentive staff. Got the chicken: succulent. Had a cheese course which was right out of a great European restaurant. Lovely view, lots of windows. Intimate feel.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
420 reviews 420 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
“Second visit, just as good as the first”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

What a great restaurant! What an expensive restaurant! Great, great service from the instant you drive up and use valet parking, to finally ordering desert at the end of the visit, even though there's no way you'll have room for desert... Just be prepared for $100 per person if you're getting wine with the courses.

I was there with my wife and another couple and all of our food was superb, as you'd expect, but I didn't expect it to be $230 for each couple. Youch. My entrée was only $20 and my wife's was $26, as was the other couples' entrees. Clearly, the "glasses" (2", max) (and, I don't expect it to be filled to the brim like Olive Garden, but halfway would be nice) of wine was the clincher on the bill.

All in all it was excellent, but I probably wouldn't let them bring wine for every course again without at least knowing the price. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meritage also viewed

 

Been to Meritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meritage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.