We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meritage

Meritage
410 St. Peter Street, Saint Paul, MN 55102
651.222.5670
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 791 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Consistently great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We've dined here multiple times over the past couple of years and have yet to be disappointed. The oysters are simply the best in Minnesota, the wine list extensive and the crafted cocktails are wonderful.

The french fries with the bernaise sauce is out of this world and the rest of the menu wont disappoint you either. In Fall they run Oysterfest with wine, bands and a portable crepe station.

Be aware that this place isn't cheap but you will get what you pay for.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    38
    13
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Paris in St. Paul”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Last night, pre-Opera, we did our usual scramble from Minneapolis through rush-hour traffic to St. Paul in order to eat at our favorite restaurant, Meritage. The food is excellent (especially the organic greens salad and ham in the Thursday night special); the service spot-on (right there when wanted; not when not); and the ambiance festive without being too loud. It reminds us of our favorite brasseries in France so we feel we get a mini vacation each time we are there. Oh, and the wine - a malbac from CA -- was reasonably priced, rich and warming on that extremely cold night. Capped off with three amusements for dessert, we made it to our seats before the curtain rose..

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A fancy meal . . . so be prepared”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Meritage is not exactly casual dining, but two dinners here in the past couple months have each been memorable experiences. Perhaps the most notable dish was the "trio of [local] pork," which was an immense treat -- three entirely different tasting cuts of pork. Duck breast predictably delicious, wonderful oversize burger, wonderful mussels with fries. Excellent wines, indeed many with surprisingly good values at around $40/bottle -- especially for restaurant fare -- but we did not say inexpensive. Chef Russell Klein greets his regulars. Get a reservation (early) for the dining room, or enjoy the full menu in the less formal bar. Outside seating as weather permits.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“I couldn't disagree more with the positive reviews here!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I am quite surprised by all of the positive reviews that Meritage has gotten. While the space itself is beautiful, the food totally fell flat. We didn't finish one item we ordered...the french onion soup was SWEET (seemed to be not just from a sweet onion, but it tasted like there was 1/2 cup of sugar in it) and inedible. I had a few bites of the cheese on top but the broth was not good at all. We ordered oysters (fine enough) and escargots, which tasted like they came out of a jar. Our server was delightful but, to be direct, smelled like she just finished a bottle of brandy. I'd say this would be a good place to go for a drink and a few happy hour oysters only.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“THE place to go for Oysters, and one of our favorite restaurants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We come here often for oysters. Their wine selection is outstanding, and their sommeliers are very knowledgeable. Food is consistently excellent., and staff and owners friendly, and very professional. They also offer great wine classes (we attended a few). The restaurant is always busy, so either come early to bar or make reservations. One of our favorite places in the Cities.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meritage also viewed

 

Been to Meritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meritage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.