We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shish Mediterranean Grill & Cafe

Shish Mediterranean Grill & Cafe
1668 Grand Ave, Saint Paul, MN 55105-1804
651-690-2212
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 785 restaurants in Saint Paul
Price range: $5 - $11
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We went here because of a horrible experience across the street ( server dipping hands in the water jug ) but boy were we glad . Everything we ordered was fantastic . We are coming back !

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    52
    19
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great ambiance, quick service, decent prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I live in the St. Paul area and frequent Shish often. They have an extensive menu that is delicious, their service is quick and their prices are quite reasonable. The portions are large, I normally split their gyro so that I'm not overly full!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Middle Eastern flavors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I always enjoy going to Shish for the variety of basic middle eastern fare and their scrumptious burgers with middle eastern flavors, accompanied by succulent French fries. Comfortable dining space suitable for friends and family.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Our favorite neighborhood restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We come to Shish for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We come as a couple, as a family and with friends. It fits all bills. Food is wonderful and generous, service friendly and fast. The breakfast menu is excellent, with good coffee. The dinner menu is very balanced, and portions big. There is usually some special, but the standard menu is special enough. It does get crowded and noisy, but at Shish that does not seem to bother us.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
363 reviews 363 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
“Extremely gd food, modest prices, packed at lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Shish has some of best Middle Eastern food in the Twin Cities, available breakfast, lunch or dinner. The gyros, chicken swarma, falafel, hummus, omlets and deserts are really really good. You go to the cash register to order and they bring the food to you when ready. When Macalester is in session, this place is packed from 11:30 to 1:00. It also has good wi-fi which attracts some students, faculty and neighborhood folks. This is a locally owned place that has been strongly supported by the community because the food is VERY good, prices reasonable and service is pleasant. Breakfasts is a great time to be here. It's less busy and you can have omlettes that you would otherwise not find elsewhere. This is not a fancy place so don't go if you are looking for white tablecoths. If you are seeking fine food in a relaxed setting, try Shish.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shish Mediterranean Grill & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Shish Mediterranean Grill & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shish Mediterranean Grill & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.