We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre- and post-concert drinks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Liffey

The Liffey
175 7th Street West, Saint Paul, MN 55102
651-556-1420
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 805 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Kellogg Blvd.
Iowa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Pre- and post-concert drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Quick service, great selection of beer and liquor. Great atmosphere. Plenty of bartenders on hand, so service was fast even though it was packed.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    42
    15
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, Minnesota, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great service, after a concert!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had drinks and apps before and after the TSO concert. Service was great, prices were fair. Located in the Holiday Inn Downtown, St. Paul.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Busy night but good service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I was at the Liffey for happy hour one evening mid-week before an event at the Xcel and it was busy. We had a larger group (more than a dozen) but our waitress did a good job keeping all of our orders straight. I ordered the walleye sandwich (per menu: lightly breaded, served crispy & fully garnished on a potato hoagie with a side of herbed aioli). It came with a side of "house garlic-dill crisps" which meant potato chips w/a hint of dill seasoning. I was kind of wary of them b/c I usually do not like dill, but these were seasoned A-okay!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The worst service in St. Paul”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Possibly the worst service in St. Paul. Combine this with mismanagement and you have a nice looking pub in a great location that isn't worth going to.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lively Irish bar/restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This place filled up quickly on Monday evening. Had their Reuben which was one of the best I've ever had. Service was very quick (even with the crowd).

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Liffey also viewed

 

Been to The Liffey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Liffey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.