We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pastries, Breakfasts and More” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Finnish Bistro

Finnish Bistro
2264 Como Ave, Saint Paul, MN 55108-1722
651-645-9181
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 685 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Scandinavian
Restaurant details
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pastries, Breakfasts and More”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Finnish Bistro offers a variety of wonderful pastries, cookies and cakes. I would also recommend stopping for brunch. The one thing I would warn against is Chilled Finnish Delight which consists of cream cheese, topped with chilled smoked salmon,capers, onions and dill. Although it sounds wonderful, the time I had this, it had way too many onions to the point where I had to thrown half away. But I've had the other breakfasts and they have all been wonderful. I've also went for lunch and enjoyed the flatbreads.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    14
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We came for breakfast. I enjoyed an egg scrambled with fresh veggies and wrapped in Lefse! Yes, lefse topped off with sour cream and a side of fresh salsa. Yummy! My husband had eggs with a polish type sausage, equally as good. We took bakery to go and all was divine. The space is small but quaint. It is an order at the counter and they bring it out. Worked fine for us. Dunn Bros. coffee is connected for your caffeine fix. They also have a beautiful outdoor space. We would like to enjoy that space when it's not raining. If you're looking for something fresh and with an interesting menu, you have got to try the Finnish Bristo!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Who would have thought....an unexpected treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

We were invited by friends to try this out. What a gem. Although you don't go for the atmosphere it has it's own charm. Very reasonable prices but better yet, great food and wonderful baked goods. The Kringler is just heavenly. My wife commented that the salmon rivaled that of more expensive restaurants. Our friends had the burger made from walnuts. Far better than one would expect. It was a joyful experience. Sandra the new owner spent some time with us giving us the background. It just goes to prove that a little extra attention goes a long way. All the staff was so helpful and supportive. They also had smiles and you could tell that they like to work here. This is our new go to restaurant. Oh, they have all day breakfast--/breakfast for dinner anyone? :-). Bravo.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“LOVE the Finnish Bistro...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We have enjoyed many good meals at the casual Finnish Bistro and look forward to returning there each time we visit St. Paul.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Good breakfast and people watching”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Dropped by the Finnish Bistro with a friend on our way sightseeing. The french toast was out of this world, full of berries and made with a special cardamom roll as the toast. Place was packed and made for fun people watching. There are all kinds of pastries, egg dishes, sandwiches. In the evening you can enjoy beer and wine with your meal. You order at the counter and the server will bring you your food. Unless you are just getting pastries then of course they give then to you right away. Fun place, would have liked to gone back in the evening.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Finnish Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Finnish Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finnish Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.