We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place for burgers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casper & Runyon's Nook

Casper & Runyon's Nook
492 Hamline Ave S, Saint Paul, MN 55116-1613
651-698-4347
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 793 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best place for burgers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This is by far the best place for Juicy Lucys in the city. The food is always good. It is just a little place and always busy. We usually have to wait, but it's worth it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    55
    15
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Juicy Lucy is Awsome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Heard about this place on a food channel. Was in the area last week so had to try it. So glad we did. One of the best burgers we have had. Only way to make it better would be with cheddar instead of American cheese. It is a messy burger, but sooooo delicious. Liked the cole slaw better than the fries. My GPS couldn't locate the address so I called for directions,with the help of an employee found the place in a few minutes.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
America
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Another Honest Review....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We (3 adults/2 children) ate at The Nook on Saturday, November 17th. I was in the mood for a good burger and my friend recommended this place. I am a huge fan of Triple D and was famililar with the restaurant from that show. It's a very small place upstairs with another bar/seating, as well as, some bowling lanes downstairs. We rented one of the lanes and headed downstairs. We ordered our food right away and a pitcher of beer. The food took a long time to get there (30-40 mins), which was disappointing. We had to go back to the bar twice to check on it. However, the bowling kept us entertained and once the food arrived, it was worth the wait. I ordered the Supreme Burger/fries and we ordered some hot wings and Wyld wings. The wings were drumettes and looked overcooked, but that was not the case. They were both quite deliciious. The burger was monsterous! It was their take on the Big Mac, but 3x the size. It was also great! The meat was seasoned well and very flavorful, great cheese and sauce too. Overall, a fine burger. I also enjoyed the hand-cut fries. Everyone enjoyed their meal and we were all stuffed when we left. The burger is not the best burger I've ever had, but it's in the top 20, which is saying quite a lot. I look forward to returning to The Nook when I visit STPL again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Good food, great service, but not the best Lucy in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I had high hopes for The Nook after years of hearing friends rave about the burgers, but the burgers were my least favorite part of our evening. We sampled several varieties of the Jucy Lucy and each one was good, but not the mind-blowing burger experience we were expecting. Matt's Bar in Minneapolis continues, in my book, to win the local title of best tasting Lucy hands down. However, the friendly service, intimate bar setting, tasty french fries, and appetizers raised The Nook from an average burger joint to a very good night out. There is a small but nice selection of beers on tap, including a few local brews. We shared an order of onion rings and they were nearly perfect; crisp crust, a good bite to the onion, and very flavorful. The wings were fried nicely but the regular buffalo flavor was a bit on the mild side; if we return we would order hotter wings. And the service and atmosphere was very cozy and friendly.

If you're in St. Paul and hankering a Jucy Lucy, head to The Blue Door Pub. But if you want a local bar with good wings and fries, head to The Nook.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Burger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

By far the best burger in the Twin Cities. Hand cut fries are fantastic and the beer selection is great. I've tried, but I just can't find a better burger than the one at this St. Paul gem.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casper & Runyon's Nook also viewed

 
Saint Paul, MN
 

Been to Casper & Runyon's Nook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casper & Runyon's Nook, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.