We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place for any meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Oven

Little Oven
1786 Minnehaha Ave E, Saint Paul, MN 55119-6200
651-735-4944
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 790 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Restaurant details
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful place for any meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This family neighborhood place is known for it's large portions and small prices. The food is great and the service is excellent. Just about any time kyou go there, from breakfast to dinner, you will experience a wait but it is well worth it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    21
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Small Neighborhood Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

My brother brought me here as its one of his favorites and he's lived in the cities a long time.A good choice. Ample,good food and very affordable.Our small group had a variety of entrees which varied from their steaks,too both red sauced and seafood pasta's. Everyone came away satisfied and impressed. They also run specials and that seems to be a big draw also. Its rather small and a cash place and quite busy,but we only had about a 5 minute wait to be seated.Will definitely go back when in the area , even if it means driving an extra half hour to get there.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, MN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great food, affordable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We drive out of our way to eat here - and have done so for about 15 years. With their specials or coupons from their website it is always great food at bargain prices. The portions are very large, the bread and bread sticks are freshly made and you know you are in a family run business.

If we have to wait for a table - it is worth it. Bring CASH. They are proud to keep their prices low and a part of this is not paying credit card fees. Enjoy this special place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A lot of great food at a reasonable price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Although you might have to wait for a seat (small place), it is definitely worth the short wait! Never, ever disappoints! Breakfast is very popular! If you're in the area, it's a must stop!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“You Won't Leave Hungry or Broke!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a great neighborhood restaurant. There is almost always a wait for a table on the weekend, but it's worth it. The dining room is a little small, but it has a comfortable, cozy feel. I went there for breakfast about a week ago and had the Sicilian Omelet. It was delicious and all the portions were huge. For 8.99 it included a 3 egg omelet, hash browns and 2 good-sized pancakes. I have a good appetite, but I did not touch the pancakes, choosing to take them home instead. I call that a tremendous value!

I frequently order take-out pizza here. They have a "buy one get one" special where you can take home 2 14" pizzas for under $20! This is always enough for 2 full meals for my family of 4 (including 2 teenage boys!). The pizza is always loaded with cheese (no reason to order extra cheese here), and definitely on the greasy side, but we love it!

As others have said; no credit cards here. Cash or check only (no checks under number 2500).

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Oven also viewed

 
Saint Paul, MN
 

Been to Little Oven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Oven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.