We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like fantastic soups....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cecil's Delicatessen & Bakery

Cecil's Delicatessen & Bakery
651 Cleveland Ave S, Saint Paul, MN 55116-1293
(651) 698-0334
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 786 restaurants in Saint Paul
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Bakery, Delicatessen, Kosher
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If you like fantastic soups....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Cecil's is a fixture in the St. Paul Highland neighborhood. They have fantastic deli foods along with great soups (borscht and matzo ball) and wonderful hammentaschen.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    50
    23
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“So disapointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This was not my 1st visit, I have been there before and loved it.
I understand busy, that was not a problem for me. We went a lunch.
I ordered 1/2 corned beef and soup for lunch. The 1/2 corned beef consisted of 3 small slices of corned beef. The soup was good, I enjoyed that and of course the Phosphate was fantastic.
Just disapointed about the sandwich. Staff was great especially during such a crazy busy time in a small space.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“St. Paul Deli Institution”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Whenever visiting St. Paul, MN don't miss the opportunity to visit a family owned institution in the heart of the Highland Park neighborhood. Easy to find, the sandwiches do not take a back seat to any other deli/restaurant in the twin cities area. The sandwiches are hearty and delicious. The various reuben choices will not disappoint. The breads, rolls, and bagels are all baked on the premises and are always fresh. Everything on the menu is a star from "Just Like New York," to "Some Like It Hot" to the "Grilled Salami," to the reuben. Cecil's also has some of the best cole slaw and potato salad you will find west on New York City.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“You don't succeed for 60+ years without having what people want”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Cecil's opened in 1949. I didn't discover it until the early 60s but I've been coming ever since. I love the matzo ball soup, the split pea soup, the lox and bagel, chopped chicken liver on a kaiser roll, and all the many sandwiches I've tried over the years. Have a phosphate and/or a slice of pie. Take home a great loaf of bread. With its awkward-opening doors and its bathrooms downstairs, this old place doesn't get a very high accessibility rating. When that became an issue for my husband we switched to takeout meals. Couldn't deprive my sweetie of his Some Like It Hot sandwich!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Reuben's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Seats fill up fast during the lunch hour. Quick service. Had a great reuben sandwich and took a box of hamentashen pastries to go.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cecil's Delicatessen & Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Cecil's Delicatessen & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cecil's Delicatessen & Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.