We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much to see!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Fort Snelling

Historic Fort Snelling
200 Tower Avenue, Saint Paul, MN 55111
(612) 726-1171
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 54 Attractions in Saint Paul
Type: Landmarks
Attraction details
Colonge, MN
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“So much to see!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Took my 11 year old twin boys for a day of exploring and learning at Historic Fort Snelling. It was a quiet day with basic events planned through the day. Musket shooting and cannons were enjoyed by these boys! We also enjoyed speaking with the "doctor" about medical care at the fort. I enjoyed the many period costumes and interactions. After 3 hours we had explored only half of the Fort but had to leave for other commitments. We will return to finish to seeing this historic gem.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    13
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Fun for the family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This is a fun attraction for all the family. Very well restored and reenacted by enthusiastic locals. Very informative with lots to see and read. The highlight is the firing of the cannon. I would have liked to have explored for longer but the mosquitos were making a beeline for me! Well worth a couple of hours.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omaha, ne
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“great history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

we spent the whole afternoon at the Fort on the 4th of July--it was a great experience in history. We enjoyed the people dressed in the 1800 dress-the special little extra's on the 1/2 hour recreating history at the fort. Time well spent!!!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Top Contributor
397 reviews 397 reviews
95 attraction reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Better Than Expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Our extended family group visited on a beautiful day along with hundreds of YMCA summer campers. Been to many similar forts across the US but this was one of the nicer and best staffed. We really enjoyed the hospital section which was a real eye opener! Overall it was worth the time & money.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorhead, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Cool place to visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We came to historic Fort Snelling on a World War II weekend. There were lots of WWII exhibits and people to talk to about the war and some of the weapons used. We went through all of the rooms that were open and learned some cool history facts about the civil war era in Minnesota / Dakota territory. Definitely worth stopping by. Free parking, admission was pretty reasonable for adults at $11.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Historic Fort Snelling also viewed

 

Been to Historic Fort Snelling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Fort Snelling, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.