We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Neighborhood restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmelo's

Carmelo's
238 Snelling Ave S, Saint Paul, MN 55105-1944
651-699-2448
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #90 of 805 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great Neighborhood restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

stopped in for a quick dinner,and was not disappointed. Our waitress was fantastic-very friendly and helpful. The food was great. Every time we go in we wonder why it took so long to come back again!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    10
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St.Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
521 reviews 521 reviews
309 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
282 helpful votes 282 helpful votes
“Nice, not fancy, good Italian food, neighborhood setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Pleasant place for good Italian classics - pasta, spaghetti, chicken & veal parm, ravioli, nice people. Nice wine list - not extensive, not expensive. This has been around for a long time. It's not fancy but it has good food. I would not drive 20 miles to get here. But if you are in the mood for good Italian food, reasonable prices, this is a place to try.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Real Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

This is a quaint little place that you can barely see from Snelling Avenue. The food and service are both excellent. When we first went to Carmelo's, I'm not sure many people knew about it, but it sure seems busy now. First rate!

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful neighborhood restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We love the food and the service. Prices are reasonable. Not as formal as other places in the area. We celebrate many special meals here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Paul
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Quaint, family run, simple and consistent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Carmellos doesn't try to be something it's not. The single-room, family-run restaurant on busy Snelling Avenue is the place to go when you want to sit down with a glass of chianti, simple salad and an unpretentious bowl of the best pasta this side of the Mississippi.
The waitstaff is frequently over-seated during meal times, so go early or late to get timely service. Dishes that demand mention are anything pesto, aglio olio and shrimp and garlic.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmelo's also viewed

 

Been to Carmelo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmelo's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.