We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mediocore food and unfriendly wait staff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Day By Day Cafe

Day By Day Cafe
477 7th St W, Saint Paul, MN 55102-2731
651-227-0654
Improve this listing
Ranked #165 of 791 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Restaurant details
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“mediocore food and unfriendly wait staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We have been going to Day by Day cafe for breakfast for years on Sunday morning - mostly because my father-in-law likes to meet there! Well, we finally convinced him to find a new place after tolerating the VERY unfriendly wait staff! I could never understand why the place seems to have so many people wanting to eat there...the food is at best OK but the employees are something else. They act as though you are asking them for the world if you need something - most of them never smile ( I assume they dislike their jobs) and most are rude to my 88 year old father-in-law - pretending not to hear him! The good news is that we no longer go there and have found a MUCH better place closer to his house. If you do decide to go there consider yourselves warned!!!!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    22
    9
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Unfriendly Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

I have been going to the Day by Day for lunch for years. On my last visit, the service was slow and the server was rude. I am disappointed to cross Day by Day off my list.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I met a friend for breakfast here a couple weeks ago. First time I had been here. It was a very good breakfast. The eggs and sausage were tasty, service was good, and prices were reasonable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A down home breakfast with a purpose”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We have been here a number of times. A solid breakfast place. Pancakes are large and tasty. Actually breakfast is available all day. We also like to support their mission.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“This is our weekend go-to place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

My wife and I really like this place, like the theme and the food. Not a fancy place, but very comfy, and the food is always consistent. Friendly staff, just a great place for morning coffee and breakfast. The patio is very nice on a pleasant day.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Day By Day Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Day By Day Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Day By Day Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.