We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so good” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Khyber Pass Cafe

Khyber Pass Cafe
1571 Grand Ave, Saint Paul, MN 55105-2229
651-690-0505
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #131 of 786 restaurants in Saint Paul
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Afghan
Dining options: Buffet
Restaurant details
Dining options: Buffet
Roseville
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not so good”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Very disappointed in the variety, quality of food, and worn out surroundings. It was a waste of time.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    12
    19
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St.Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
364 reviews 364 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
“Why is KP 26 years old? VG food, service, modest prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

It's tough for a restaurant to last 10 years, much less 26. This restaurant has done so because the food is very tasty, distinctive, modestly priced with friendly service. The atmosphere inside is quite pleasant. Both carnivores and vegetarians will be pleased. A variety of chicken, lamb, beef and vegy dishes are available.

During the week, it offers a buffet lunch.

Food tastes VERY good. Servers seem genuinely glad diners have come in. I'd put KP is the top 20 of restaurants in St. Paul. We have been coming here for many years. If anything, it's better than it was 20 years ago.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good "real food"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Living only a few blocks away, I enjoy going to this restaurant from time to time. I must admit I would attend more often if the price were a wee bit lower. There are discounts however, offered for students and the food is real - slow cooked and fresh. As a vegetarian I also enjoy a variety of selections ranging from mung beans and rice to hummus, salad, lentils and other veggies such as eggplant. The atmosphere is a little "tired" feeling, but I have always found the food to be quite good. Friendliness of servers varies, though I have always found the owners to be gracious and appreciative of their customers. All in all, you really can't go wrong on St. Paul's good ol' Grand Avenue.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“What a variety of exotic foods!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

It's fun to have each person order different dishes and share! Meats are tender and veggies are NOT "out of a can like Mom used to serve!"

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I had never tasted authentic Afghani food before and was pleasantly surprised....great area...food is great especially the khichiri. We are not locals otherwise would have eaten here often!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Khyber Pass Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Khyber Pass Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khyber Pass Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.