We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliably good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boca Chica Restaurante

Boca Chica Restaurante
11 Cesar Chavez St, Saint Paul, MN 55107-2225
651-222-8499
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Boca Chica Restaurante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #81 of 793 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Wabasha
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Reliably good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

A neighborhood restaurant that survives nearly fifty years and counting must be doing something right. The food is the primary reason for the longevity. The menu is extensive and delicious. I wouldn't go to a Mexican restaurant just because they have terrific chips and salsa, but this place sure does! The lunch time buffet is tasty. Service is always friendly but can get a bit slow if they are unexpectedly busy. The bright murals and interesting artifacts add to the pleasure of dining in this casual neighborhood restaurant.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    20
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“best twin cities Mexican restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

If you like Mexican food, I suggest you visit Boca Chica. A fellow took me to his favorite restaurant in Mexico City several years ago - eating the food, I would have sworn I was at Boca Chica, Needless to say, I was surprised.

How many Mexican restaurants do you visit where the default tortilla is corn? Love them. We like the Chille Relleno, but everything we've eaten has been excellent.

The atmosphere is exactly what the restaurant represents - a family owned and operated restaurant. Pictures of the family are on the wall, along with painted Mexican murals. Local Mexicans come to eat as families. An authentic experience.

If you visit only one Mexican restaurant in the Twin Cities, make it Boca Chica.

ps - Their weekday lunch buffet, and Sunday brunch are an excellent way to sample their food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not quite Mexican Cusine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The titles of the food on the menu might be authentic, but the food isn't. It's been retooled to fit the tastes of the Midwest. The chips were too salty and the waitress gave us their hottest salsa (which was alright for me, but not for my husband) and she didn't warn us. The food was dry and came without the traditional sauce. If you like traditional Mexican cuisine, do not eat here.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chardon, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I love Mexican food and this is some of the best authentic Mexican food I've had. Absolutely delicious and a local favorite.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect porch lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Boca Chica offered a lovely respite on a sweltering day to sit on the porch, drink ice cold beer and have some delicious comfort food.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boca Chica Restaurante also viewed

 

Been to Boca Chica Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boca Chica Restaurante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.