We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Save room for dessert.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar

Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar
360 Saint Peter St, Saint Paul, MN 55102-1512
+1 651-223-7000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #39 of 805 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Doing business
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 5th St.
Description: Italy's abundant and diverse food styles are represented and sampled throughout the year at Pazzaluna. The many culinary faces of Italy's distinct regions find their way to Pazzaluna's cucina daily. Seasonal influence is always projected, as are the artisan and craft suppliers that provide Pazzaluna with the best raw-ingredients Mother Nature has to offer. Pazzaluna is proud of its reputation of buying direct from area farmers on some of its most prized items. This style of purchasing is the TRUE ITALIAN TRATTORIA way - using local, regionally grown and produced supplies, reflecting the unique influence of the area as all of the ingredients come together in concert to perform in a dinner experience of a lifetime. To Italians, a meal is more than just food-it's an experience, an event to be shared with family and friends. No where is this more true than at Pazzaluna Urban Italian in Saint Paul, one of the Twin Cities' best Italian restaurants.
Laurel, MS
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Save room for dessert.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

The reviews here at TripAdvisor encouraged us to try Pazzaluna. It was mere steps away from our hotel at the St. Paul. We were greeted by a cheerful host that was not reluctant to let us know that there was still time to enjoy their Happy Hour specials at the bar. After sitting for dinner and looking at the HH 4 to 6 p.m. specials that include hefty discounts on several popular appetizers like one of their pizzas and calamari, not to mention reduced drinks, we will probably return for Happy Hour and dessert. The restaurant was relatively quiet and about 1/4 full when we arrived but by the time we left around 7:30 was filled with several large parties (one was at least 15) and both business diners and couples. However, the restaurant was not too loud to enjoy conversation. We were seated in a booth that allowed us to see a bit of the action in the kitchen without all of the hustle of the seats at its kitchen bar. The bread and olive tapenade made the meal along with our attentive bread and water server Ben who was friendly and a good ambassador for the city.

My beet salad was flavorful under melted goat cheese. My husband's bruschetta with roasted garlic and gorgonzola was interesting. The garlic and gorgonzola was a cold, creamy mixture on top of two slices of toasted bread. Delicious but keep in mind they give you enough of the garlic "cream" to butter an entire bread basket. So ask for a basket if it hasn't already arrived at your table to stretch out this appetizer. The bruschetta would have been better if the "cream" was brought to room temperature before serving, I feel.

It was difficult to decide on an entrée, so we ordered a half of the duck ravioli along with the Sea Bass on polenta and puttanesca and the Chicken Parmesan. The promise of foie gras in the duck ravioli was executed very minimally and its broth similar to weak chicken stock. The ravioli pasta was a bit hard and undercooked. I was glad we chose to get it in a half order and not a full entrée. The Sea Bass sat in a delicious pool of polenta and savory puttanesca and my husband practically liked his plate clean. After getting a less-than-encouraging recommendation of the brisket lasagna from our server, I chose the Chicken Parmesan. It was overcooked. But the four cheese sauce and pomodora sauce made up for it. I asked for additional pomodora sauce and scraped off the outer coating of the chicken to enjoy it. I highly recommend getting a dish with the pomodora or four-cheese sauce. The Frangelico Pecan Pie caught our eye while reading the menu online, and it was a recommendation of Ben's with the addition of ordering its vanilla gelato on the side and asking for the caramel sea salt gelato instead to accompany it. We were not disappointed. The salty caramel gelato took the pie to a new height of flavor layers. Although its cardboard-textured crust needs significant improvement, it was chock-full of pecans. A must-try.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisseyHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for visiting Pazzaluna during your recent visit to Saint Paul and for the review! We are very glad you enjoyed multiple experience while at the restaurant and bar and were able to enjoy a variety of foods and beverages. Happy hour is very popular and we look forward to your return visit for it and the Sea Bass and the Pecan Pie are two of my favorite dishes! I could eat those daily. We are glad Ben was so helpful and you were treated well. We look forward to your return and thank you for your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    92
    36
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Pleasant environment Italian downtown Saint Paul”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a slightly above average Italian restaurant in downtown Saint Paul. It is large but nicely appointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun but spendy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Six of us stopped in after an event and ate in the bar. Service was excellent and the place is beautiful, but the food was mediocre and the drink prices were astronomical. Plus, we used valet parking because when we pulled up there wasn't a price sign. Imagine our shock when we had to pay $10 for valet service and we still waited 20 minutes for our car.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisseyHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for visiting Pazzaluna and we are so glad you enjoyed the service and the atmosphere. We are very sorry you felt the price of the food, drinks and valet were not equivalent to the price. We take great pride in providing exceptional experiences and also feel the experience is worth the price, however we also make mistakes from time to time. We hope you will give Pazzaluna another chance soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Food and Service Vastly Improved!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I've been to Pazzaluna several times but this is my first visit in years because the last experience was so bad (very mediocre food and horrendous service); thankfully both the food and service were vastly improved since that last visit.

The Bruschetta was the best I've had anywhere, all pasta dishes at our table were excellent as was the creme brulee. The service was very good; timely without interrupting or ignoring you. I won't hesitate to go back in the future when I'm looking for a "nice" night out (unfortunately the budget doesn't allow weekly visits).

They offer valet parking (for a fee) and will validate two hours of parking at the ramp across the street, which is a nice touch. At one time they were offering complementary valet parking if you dined before a performance at the Ordway, not sure if that's still available or not, but worth checking into if the situation applies.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisseyHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for your return visit to Pazzaluna. We are so glad you enjoyed your last experience - the food and service. We do offer a few parking options at varying price points, including a free offering at the skyway connected Lawson parking ramp (across the street). We hope you will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Paul
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great space, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

I've eaten here about 5 times. The place is beautiful and the service is very good. But the food is average and forgettable. I want to like it but never leave going, "Wow! That was incredible!" Not that it is ever bad, just good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.