We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather institutional Italian” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar

Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar
360 Saint Peter St, Saint Paul, MN 55102-1512
+1 651-223-7000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #33 of 685 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 5th St.
Description: Italy's abundant and diverse food styles are represented and sampled throughout the year at Pazzaluna. The many culinary faces of Italy's distinct regions find their way to Pazzaluna's cucina daily. Seasonal influence is always projected, as are the artisan and craft suppliers that provide Pazzaluna with the best raw-ingredients Mother Nature has to offer. Pazzaluna is proud of its reputation of buying direct from area farmers on some of its most prized items. This style of purchasing is the TRUE ITALIAN TRATTORIA way - using local, regionally grown and produced supplies, reflecting the unique influence of the area as all of the ingredients come together in concert to perform in a dinner experience of a lifetime. To Italians, a meal is more than just food-it's an experience, an event to be shared with family and friends. No where is this more true than at Pazzaluna Urban Italian in Saint Paul, one of the Twin Cities' best Italian restaurants.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
303 reviews 303 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Rather institutional Italian”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Crowded the night we visited, the wait staff was taxed and somewhat disinterested. Food is a notch above Olive Garden but similarly institutional.
Seasoning and presentation inconsistent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisseyHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for visiting Pazzaluna and for your feedback regarding your experience. We apologize if you did not enjoy your evening. The culinary team takes great effort in preparing authentic, Italian dishes and we would welcome the opportunity to show how very different our food can be from other restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    92
    36
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Upscale Italian Restaurant in St. Paul, MN”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Pazzaluna is a great place to meet during 'happy hour' for a low cost pizza, and other appetizer selections. The alcohol prices are also lower during 'happy hour.' Parking can be difficult during this time as people are leaving the downtown area after work and sometimes the area parking ramps remain full. The ambiance at Pazzaluna is always fun with a mix of city workers and sometimes Wild hockey fans, etc.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Multo Bene”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This restaurant was chosen by our Event Sponsor "Securian" headquartered In Saint Paul.
After an all dayer of presentations we headed to Pazzaluna. Group of 20+ had our own room so can only say that by the time we left the place was pretty busy even for mid week dining!

The service was excellent, from the attentiveness of the staff to the presenation of the food as well as the taste from appetizer to dessert. As soon as the wine glass was getting low the staff paid attention & came over for refill.

Loved it & would highly recommend while also mentioning that my experience in a group setting might be different than for a family or a couple. I might add that a lot of times in large group settings the service or the food can be marginal, I didn't experience that at Pazzaluna.
On a personal visit in the future I will definetely take the Mrs!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisseyHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for visiting Pazzaluna and for your review. Securian is a wonderful friend of our restaurant and bar and we appreciate them very much. We are glad you enjoyed the excellent service, the presentation and taste of the food, and the wine!

Your comment about a group setting vs. more private is absolutely correct in many other locations, but at Pazzaluna, we take great pride in making every experience - no matter the type or size - memorable and cravable. We hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemount, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I don't get it”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had tried on several occasions to make reservation for dinner before the opera but each time none were available. Finally we succeeded by making them way in advance. First, the place was so noisy we could hardly carry on a conversation above the din without shouting ourselves. We ordered the beet salad to share after the waitress assured it was large enough to share. It wasn’t. The two very small salads were tasty and nicely presented. Then came the main dishes. I ordered the Spinach & Cheese Ravioli. I can't think of any other way to say it, it was just horrible. It was so tough it was difficult to cut and it just didn’t taste good. My friend had the Grilled Vegetable Pizza. It was over done to the point that when she bit into it, it literally exploded all over the table with each bite. The table was a mess and with her dinner in crumbs all over she wasn’t left with much to eat. The basket of bread was very good as was the interesting spread that came with it. As we were leaving the restaurant we both agreed that we didn’t feel the need to ever return. We had recently eaten at Arezzo Ristorante in Edina and their food is spectacular. There is no comparison. I don’t get why this place (Pazzaluna) is so popular.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great food but terrible service.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have been going to Pazzaluna for years and last week was our first bad experience. We were seated in a booth back by the kitchen and our server was so slow and kept forgetting things. When we sat down, I asked for the wine menu and my husband ordered a beer and he disappeared for over 10 minutes. He returned with the wine menu and no beer? Then, I ordered my wine and he brought it and still failed to remember the beer.

Our food was fantastic, but you really don't get much for the price. Small portions. When our bill finally arrived (after some prodding), he didn't come back to pick it up so finally my husband had to get up and go and give him the bill with our credit card.

Overall, great food - but the service this time around was awful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.