We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous dinner at Pazzaluna” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar

Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar
360 Saint Peter St, Saint Paul, MN 55102-1512
+1 651-223-7000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #33 of 685 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Doing business, Bar scene, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 5th St.
Description: Italy's abundant and diverse food styles are represented and sampled throughout the year at Pazzaluna. The many culinary faces of Italy's distinct regions find their way to Pazzaluna's cucina daily. Seasonal influence is always projected, as are the artisan and craft suppliers that provide Pazzaluna with the best raw-ingredients Mother Nature has to offer. Pazzaluna is proud of its reputation of buying direct from area farmers on some of its most prized items. This style of purchasing is the TRUE ITALIAN TRATTORIA way - using local, regionally grown and produced supplies, reflecting the unique influence of the area as all of the ingredients come together in concert to perform in a dinner experience of a lifetime. To Italians, a meal is more than just food-it's an experience, an event to be shared with family and friends. No where is this more true than at Pazzaluna Urban Italian in Saint Paul, one of the Twin Cities' best Italian restaurants.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous dinner at Pazzaluna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We've eaten at Pazzaluna for years, but recently enjoyed a memorable dinner there that must be lauded. From the bouche amuse to the tiramisu, the meal was excellent.

The restaurant has a new menu and chef Seth Teiken has outdone himself. The bouche amuse - gnocchi and beef tenderloin - was quite lovely. Since we'd just walked over a mile in near zero temperatures, we welcomed the tasty and hearty treat. The spinach and gorgonzola salad with candied pecans was delicious and dressed perfectly.

We opted for doing courses of pasta and then fish - a good decision, as there are many excellent choices and this allowed us to enjoy more of them, at a leisurely pace. The spinach and cheese ravioli is a menu favorite (the sauce, oh, the sauce) but the duck and fois gras ravioli is new menu item and was incredible. The chef deserves kudos for its complex flavors.

It was the salt-roasted branzino, though, that really wowed us. It is roasted whole and then served table-side, where the server removes the salt and bones. The serving of the sea bass was an event; the servers are skilled and offer a bit of theater. The fish itself was heavenly: moist and flavorful. It is served with a lovely truffled risotto, done just right. We will return for this dish alone.

Our server, Lois, was attentive and fun. Indeed, all of the staff go out of their way to welcome guests - from far and near - and to ensure that the food and service at are excellent. Keep up the good work, Pazzaluna!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisseyHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for visiting Pazzaluna and for your complimentary review! We are so glad you enjoyed all aspects of your dining experience from the amuse bouche to the spinach and cheese ravioli to the salt-roasted branzino to the service. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    92
    36
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Forest Lake, MN
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Excellent Every Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Once again, Pazzaluna for the win. We had 6:30 reservations and our table was available right on time. All of the wait staff from the host, to the server to the person filling water and the person clearing plates were on top of their game. We each had a drink and shared the tomato bruschetta. The appetizer was mouth watering, blending the perfect flavors in every bite. The table bread with olive spread has easily become one of our favorites. Our main meals were the spicy penne, one with shrimp and one with sausage. Both were fantastic and enticingly spicy. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and that came with a free desert which our waitress happily boxed up with our left overs. This was our 3rd-4th visit to Pazzaluna and we somehow seem to be more and more pleased with every visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, Food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Took a group of co-workers to Pazzaluna to take advantage of their 4-6pm week day happy hours. We ended up staying for 3 hours and enjoyed appetizers, drinks and entrees. I had the Bell Pepper Risotto with Beef Brisket and it was amazing. Our server was incredible giving us such great recommendations. I will be going back for sure next time I travel to St Paul

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisseyHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for visiting Pazzaluna while in town from Chicago and we could not agree more that the Bell Pepper Risotto with Beef Brisket is "amazing!" It is a newer menu item and has received great reviews. We look forward to serving you when you return. Travel safely!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very tasty, traditional Italian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I had both pasta (meat) as a starter and wood-fired pizza (pear and gorgonzola) with a glass of red wine. Liked it - no complaints. I was dining alone on business but got a nice seat close to the window and felt comfortable. Would go again.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPLS, MN
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Decent Happy Hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The bar area is fun and vibrant. The happy hour food is good, and plentiful, but there are few protein choices. Very carb centric and salty. Drinks are quite cheap from 4-6 pm too.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.