We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heartland Restaurant & Farm Direct Market

Heartland Restaurant & Farm Direct Market
289 East Fifth Street, Saint Paul, MN 55105
651-699-3536
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Heartland Restaurant & Farm Direct Market is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #131 of 793 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Price range: $10 - $65
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: N Broadway St
Transit: Bus lines run directly in front of the restaurant, and beginning in 2014 the neighborhood will be served by the new Central Corridor light rail transit line connecting St. Paul and Minneapolis beginning and ending at the Union Depot located one block south of Heartland at 214 East Fourth Street.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We have been to Heartland several times. Each time was wonderful. It's also nice to know that they support the local farmer. You really can't go wrong here.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    21
    13
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great local fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This is a great spot to meet friends or entertain family over the holidays. Since this is a market to table menu it is limited but there is always something toplease everyone. A few dishes are adventourous which makes it a treat.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Menu!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Loved the experience while eating here. Everything was fresh and delicous. The menu is awesome and the wait staff was wonderful

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We ventured over to the new Heartland Restaurant before going to see "King Lear" at the Park Square Theater in St. Paul. We loved it when it was on St. Clair and were looking forward to trying it at its new location.

The restaurant was spacious with high ceilings (well, being mostly located in the atrium of the building) and nicely laid out with a separate room in addition to a more open room. The restaurant overlooked the St. Paul Farmers' Market, one of our weekly stops from May until November, and we enjoyed looking out (of several large windows) on the empty space so reminiscent of an old train station.

Our server was cheerful and helpful, although not attentive. For example, she never asked if we wanted more drinks or checked to see if we wanted our water glasses refilled. However, we were served a roll soon after our drinks and our meal followed fairly quickly.

The food was delicious. We had whitefish topped with shredded beets sitting on a bed of wheat berries and cubed vegies in a tomato broth. It was prepared well, and the fish was delicate and tasty. For dessert, we split an apple crisp that was the perfect balance between sweet and sour.

The only real surprise, and negative, was that the portions were small for the price. The whitefish was about 1/3 of a filet. Period. And $26. The salads were in the $14-16 range and really just for one person. Although I would say that the dessert was a pretty decent size for one person -- and filling (in a good way). The best value seemed to be the prix fixe menu or the bar menu. For example, the bar menu had the same whitefish but it was about $8 cheaper, and the prix fixe definitely had more food and ordering the same a la carte would be more expensive.

We were in a hurry to leave as we had to walk a few blocks to get back to the theater, but we would have liked to linger. It was definitely a nice place to relax and enjoy a good meal. Especially if someone else paid for it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Regional cuisine with a flare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

First visit to Heartland, in a new location in St. Paul in a restored warehouse. Very cool vibe, dining room and bar. Excellent service, except for a 25 minute wait between first and second courses that got a tad long. The menu is somewhat limited but it appears to change daily, which is a huge undertaking. Bravo for that. There were so many different pairings of local ingredients that the menu was almost a farmer's market in and of itself. Small plates that stood out were the cauliflower and wild boar soup and an excellent 30 year old prosciutto with braised radicchio. The trout, strip steak and chicken entrees were all excellent and with interesting pairings of tart/sweet/sour/fall flavors. The apple tart was wonderful. Wine list is ample and with a variety of good pricings. Definitely worth a second visit, but not inexpensive.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heartland Restaurant & Farm Direct Market also viewed

 

Been to Heartland Restaurant & Farm Direct Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heartland Restaurant & Farm Direct Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.