We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the beef tenderloin!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Paul Grill

The St. Paul Grill
350 Market St, Saint Paul, MN 55102-1430
651-224-7455
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The St. Paul Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 791 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Price range: $25 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 5th St.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Try the beef tenderloin!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

May be the best beef medallions I've ever eaten! I love the atmosphere of this restaurant and you'll never be able to beat the staff working there. I also tried the pork chop and I think the apple topping may be a well kept secret!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisseyHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Paul Grill, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for visiting The St. Paul Grill and your humbling praise on the beef medallions. Wow, that is a great compliment that they were the best ever eaten. The pork chop has been on The Grill menu since The Grill opened. The apple topping is housemade and made with love. We hope you will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    43
    25
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect for a graduation celebration!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

A friend recently graduated from law school in St. Paul and a group of us celebrated at the St. Paul Grill. The atmosphere and service were lovely, but still relaxed. The food, from the filet mignon to the cheesecake, was absolutely delicious. Great evening all around.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisseyHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Paul Grill, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for visiting The St. Paul Grill to celebrate a friend's law school graduation. Very exciting and congratulations to your friend! We are so glad you enjoyed the food, atmosphere and service and hope you will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Everything about this place was enjoyable. The service was top notch. The food was excellent. I will go back next time I am in St Paul.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Buzzy classy atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

The restaurant has a real buzz when you enter yet at the same time has a classy feel about it. We had a drink at the bar to start and the cocktails were excellent. The table was a bit of a squeeze and not much room so deducting points for that. Service was variable - our waiter John was a bit strange - one minute he would engage with you the next he would ignore you. Food was excellent in particular the Cajun prawns and rib eye steak. Final bill was a bit pricey but overall worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Very solid restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

This was what I describe as a solid restaurant. The food was all prepared very well. In fact I had Walleye which is a fish I totally enjoy but rarely see on menus anywhere.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The St. Paul Grill also viewed

 

Been to The St. Paul Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Paul Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.