We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Muffuletta Cafe

Muffuletta Cafe
2260 Como Ave, Saint Paul, MN 55108-1720
(651) 644-9116
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Muffuletta Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #83 of 805 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Carter Avenue
Description: "Chef Matt Ellison ... showcasing some of the best local farmers and letting their beautiful Midwestern products make his contemporary cooking arguments for him." Dara Moskowitz Grumdahl - The daily-printed menu, filled with irresistible flavors and tempting aromas, is truly a feast for the senses. The wine menu is hand- picked by the Sommelier and also changes to reflect the seasonal and ethnic influences of the cuisine. - Jeremy Iggers of the Minneapolis Star Tribune describes the restaurant as "a candle-lit chef-driven bistro with an imaginative globe-trotting menu."
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A little disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I had heard about this restaurant from a lot of people. We were mostly disappointed in the service. It was extremely slow...about 45 min wait for our food and all we ordered was sandwiches and a salad. The fries were barely cooked. The waitress was not very attentive or very friendly. We asked for more popcorn and she ignored our request. The tomato salad was very good. We sat on the patio and that was nice. Not sure I would go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    32
    20
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Pleasant Choice for Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We have had Dinner at Muffaleta's on Many Sunday evenings. The food is consistently excellent but not a bargain and portions are modest. Hard to beat for a casual but upscale dinner. Best to get a reservation in summer as their patio fills quickly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Poor cooking”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This place has got fantastic reviews all over the internet, and our experience matched the other reviewers experiences to some extent. The place has ambiance, nicely done starters and bread, a decent selection of wine, efficient and courteous staff, and sources locally. However, the chef, or whoever stood for him/her the day we went, simply does not know how to cook. The risotto variant (risi-bisi or something) tasted as if the rice has been soaking in brine for a year and then assembled in a bath of low-grade cheese. The pork had no taste at all and was tough, it was not marinated, braised or given any of the treatment that makes pork delicious, and had the texture of a random TGIF's random grilled slab of chicken. The duck was uncooked, and was presented in the kind of broth you give to a sick child.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“St Anthony Park Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Every time I've eaten at Muffuletta I leave happy. The food is great and even though the menu isn't the biggest, it offers a range of options for vegetarians to meat lovers. The only thing to keep in mind that St. Anthony Park is mainly made up of street parking, so you may have a brief walk if you decide to come during busy hours.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I've never had a bad meal or bad service at this little gem off the beaten path in the Twin Cities. Located in St. Anthony Park, a charming neighborhood near the University of Minnesota Agricultural campus, Muffuletta is the first restaurant that the original partners of the Parasole restaurant group started. It has an eclectic menu that's reasonably priced and you can find a decent glass of wine, but it doesn't have a full bar for cocktails. There's a laid back vibe and coziness to the place, which combined with the overall quality of the food and service is why it's still popular after 30+ years.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muffuletta Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Muffuletta Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muffuletta Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.