We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Japanese Food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sakura Restaurant

Sakura Restaurant
350 St Peter St, Carriage Hill Plaza, Saint Paul, MN 55102
651 224 0185
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 685 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Price range: $13 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business
Dining options: Reservations
St. Paul, MN
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Great Japanese Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Friends of ours who are frequent patrons of Sakura, my husband and I had a delicious meal tonight at Sakura's. The waiter was excellent; good recommendations and attentive without being overly solicitous. The tempura batter was light and just right. The atmosphere was nothing special and somewhat ordinary but the good food make up for the lack of ambiance. . .a little Asian motif would be appropriate. The salmon was perfect and the beef was very tasty. We'll definitely go there again and recommend the place to others as well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    44
    8
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jonesboro, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Authentic style and filling fare.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Sakura offers a more authentic style than most Japanese restaurants. Their noodles taste fresh and the the veg and protein are choice. I did not try the sushi because the other more traditional fare not normally found was too tempting. Price was slightly higher than expected for lunch but not unreasonable. $10-20

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Poor Service Really Detracts”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Earlier this month we took a party of 10 to Sakura for a family outing. We made a reservation early in the day and we were seated as soon as we arrived. That was the last pleasantness. The server assihned to us just couldn't handle a table of 10. Consequently some of us were still waiting for appetizers after our main coursrs were served. The last appetizer finally arrived in time for dessert! It happened to also be the only really hot dish we got!
All in all, the food was okay but not very hot. I wouldn't go back based primarily on the service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Bear Lake
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sushi before the wild game”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Went for happy hour with friends. Good food, great value. Service was a little slow but very friendly and accurate. Overall the visit was very pleasant. Added bonus was that they still run happy hour specials even on event nights.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“decent Japanese food in St. Paul”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

A decent place to have sushi in St. paul. Food and services are all good. You should expect to spend $50 per person (including drink and tips). I was there on a Saturday night, and the place was quite busy.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sakura Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sakura Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sakura Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.