We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Throw back to the 50's” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mickey's Diner

Mickey's Diner
36 W. 7th Street, Saint Paul, MN 55102-1129
(651) 222-5633
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #104 of 786 restaurants in Saint Paul
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Throw back to the 50's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I hear that no visit to St Paul is complete without a visit to Mickey's. So i went for breakfast and timed it just right. That place gets hopping and there isn't much seating space. Since I was solo, I sat at the counter. I order the 2's and could have had half of that order or should have... it was delicious and I ate way too much. The buttermilk pancakes are light and fluffy and the eggs and bacon came out perfectly cooked. Of course there is a lot of fat used in their cooking, but once in a while a visit to Mickey's should hurt you.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    46
    64
    27
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Picturesque stops at the door”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Let's be honest here. No one eats at Mickey's Diner on West Seventh Street in downtown St. Paul for the food. Mickey's is your typical greasy spoon, serving standard-fare eggs, hash browns, grease etc. in a converted, real-life railroad dining car that looks very much like a converted real-life railroad dining car, except this one has stools. Mickey's makes for a great photo-op for tourists, but attraction doesn't extend to the menu.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Unique Dining Experience & Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We visited Mickey's diner in early August (2012). The place was cute and very unique. The waiters were very direct and to the point, but that added to the character of the place. The blueberry pancakes are delicious. The potatoes o'brien were also good, though a little greasier than my taste. My husband got the biscuits and gravy and loved those as well. Free parking is located next door for a short period of time. I've heard its a "must-eat" in St. Paul, I'm glad that we made it there!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Lenox, Illinois
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Mickey's Diner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Was in the Twin Cities this past weekend. While driving through St. Paul, we noticed this place and figured it looked cool, so we decided to stop here for lunch.

As I walked up to it, I knew this place looked familiar, and as soon as I walked in, I realized this was the diner used for a few scenes in the Mighty Ducks movie.

My hamburger and fries were good. Decent sized menu. Our server was very friendly -- she knew we were from out of town and started talking to us about the Bears/Packers game, and the various Minnesota sports teams.

Very quaint... awesome little place!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saint paul
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Omelet Ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

First there are two Mickeys Diners, both on West Seventh St. The downtown diner, railroad car version, is on the National Historic Register. This review is of the Mickeys farther out on West Seventh next to Famous Daves BBQ. Both are in St. Paul.

I've had a lot of omelets lately, but Mickeys has the best, especially the Denver Omelet. Mickeys is sort of the Minnesota version of the Waffle House (which we don't have up here). A great 24 hour diner.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mickey's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Mickey's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mickey's Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.