We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tour and Swing Dance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wabasha Street Caves

Wabasha Street Caves
215 Wabasha St S, Saint Paul, MN 55107-1805
651 292 1220
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 42 Nightlife in Saint Paul
Type: Caverns/ Caves, Bar/ Clubs, Bars
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This unique facility for private events is comprised of 12,000 square feet in an underground cave system, which features stucco ceilings, tile floors, a 60-foot bar, dining room and meeting space.
Rochester, MN
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tour and Swing Dance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

This was my first trip here. I was very impressed with our tour and terrific and animated tour guide. Not sure of her name but she was fantastic. The background history was fantastic along with the stories. After the tour we left to eat and then came back for the swing dance. Needless to say, I was totally impressed with the 12 piece swing band along with all the people dancing. I was surprised to see that probably 75% of the people dancing wereunder the age of 30. We had a terific time and will certainly be back for more. The prices were very affordable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    9
    8
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Martin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Well worth the money, appeals to kids and adults.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2009

We took the 45 minute, $5 tour. We were looking for something that kept everyones interest. Our teenaged daughter did not roll her eyes at all! Our 10 year old son thought it was quite an adventure. We all learned a bit of history and it was fun. The staff was polite, great, humorous tour guide. Now we want to do one of the other tours. It is worth the 2 hr drive for us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Premium Experience in St. Paul”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2009

On learning of of the Wabasha Caves from the History Channel. My wife and I recently visited the caves and were highly impressed. There is adequate parking and a delicious little coffee shop on site called Grumpy's. The caves are dry, clean, and well lit. All personnel were polite and accommodating. Our delightful tour guide Dawn provided a most entertaning history of both the caves and the characters associated with them. We also attended Swing Night in the caves that evening. The band, in formal attire, including a great singer, was outstanding. The nostalgia of the music, the dancers, and the setting was great fun. Of many attractions in the area, we recommend Wabasha Caves as a primary destination. Do not miss this one!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Rip-off and rude employees.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2008

We went here over the weekend to see this 'acclaimed' sight we had heard about. They advertise opening the doors at 10 minutes before the hour of 1100am (which is the only tour available, by the way all day). We arrived at 1040am and had to wait outside. It started to rain while we waited: a downpour. You think they would open the doors a bit early so as not to let their potential customers get wet: WRONG!! Worse, when you stand in the doorwary under a small awning, employees go/in out the door and don't say excuse me or thank you when you hold the door open for them. One balding man actually slammed me with the glass door as he exited the building, striking my arm with it and didn't even apologize or say excuse me. Needless to say, I wasn't about to pay them any of my money after that. Sadly, as found with a number of attractions everywhere; this is evidently run as a hobby and not professional in any sense of the word.

Our friends that were with us, whom had traveled from out of state, went in because of their long drive and guess what: they were very, very disappointed. It was dark and dreary inside and uncomfortable. 15 people in the few groups made things mighty cramped. They could just imagine the worst scenario possible if a fire or other disaster had occurred inside.

A few words of advice: Stay away! Save your money and go see one of the museums St. Paul has to offer.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaintPaulCaves, owner at Wabasha Street Caves, responded to this review, January 29, 2009
I am sorry this person had a bad experience, and would like to respond. We specifically say that tickets will go on sale 10 minutes before the tour because we also have a coffee shop and event center, so weekend mornings are very busy with people decorating and setting up for events. They could have easily waited in their car if they arrived early and it had started to rain, but instead stood right in front of our office door (not the Cave entrance) as clients, employees, and vendors tried to enter and exit. (The coffee shop would have been a better choice.) The Caves hold 250 people for a sit down dinner, so I doubt that a group of 15 felt confined. We are secured and sprinkled so the fear of fire is no more of a concern than in any establishment. This is not a hobby for us and we take our business quite seriously. We have been doing tours for the last 15 years and our price is still only $5.00 including tax. Come back and give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis, mn
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not the best if you want customer service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2008

The staff here is not interested in providing the greatest service. Vendors hired by the people who are paying to have their party at Wabasha Street Caves have to pretty much fend for themselves. If you are having an event here, make sure the vendors you hire know that they may not have a table to set up on. At the end of the night, the staff will try to carry your equipment out without your permission, risking damage to expensive stuff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaintPaulCaves, owner at Wabasha Street Caves, responded to this review, January 29, 2009
June 28, 2008 ~ Did you come with the other reviewer? Unusual to have two the same day, and the only negative reviews we have received. Our office staff always calls the vendors to clarify if they need anything special, and they also ask the event planner to make sure vendors have what they require. Professional DJ's call in advance and lets us know if they need a table or drape and where they would like it placed. Set-up is done the day before the event usually, and not last minute. An hour is allowed after the event for all equipment to be removed and the building secured, and most bands and DJ's are out well before that. I don't know if there was a problem with that time limit on June 27, 2008 but I would suggest giving the facility a call in advance of your future "gigs" to clarify the house rules. Communication is the key!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wabasha Street Caves also viewed

 
Saint Paul, MN
 

Been to Wabasha Street Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wabasha Street Caves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.