We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming St. Paul Landmark Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 340

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel 340 to your Saves list
Hotel 340
340 Cedar Street, Saint Paul, MN 55101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Saint Paul
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Charming St. Paul Landmark Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Great historic hotel with a modern twist situated in downtown St. Paul. At hotel 340 you feel as though you are taking a step back in time without sacrificing modern amenities. As an avid traveler I can honestly say that the bed (and pillow combination) was one of the most comfortable beds that I have ever slept in. I am honestly considering purchasing the pillows for my own home.

Loved the dark wood flooring and classic bathroom tile. The details in the hotel were priceless. The lobby was attractive and the St. Paul Athletic Club gym was better than 95% of all hotel gym facilities.

Great location within walking distance to Excel Energy Center, the Science Museum of Minnesota, St. Paul Cathedral and the Capital (little extra hike).

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Mississippi River. You will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    60
    25
    8
    3
See reviews for
26
74
16
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed two separate nights at Hotel 340 in July, coming and going on a longer trip. Staff was friendly and accommodating for our late night arrival. We asked for their cheapest room since we weren't staying long. They upgraded us for one of the nights. Both of the rooms were clean, quiet, and comfortable. The cheapest room was small but entirely adequate. The other room was very nice, spacious and had a fridge. The ":continental breakfast" was much better than we expected. There were eggs and yogurt and fruit and cereals and whole grain bread as well as the usual sweet pastry things.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Excellent,comfortable well-furnished room, very accommodating staff, fond memories of my stay as I awaited Amtrak train next day. Would gladly go back when I visit st Paul.
I'd this isn't 200 characters yet, it will be as soon as I finish this sentence, I hope, earnestly hope, with consummate patience and growing annoyance.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

My boyfriend booked this hotel for it's pretty closed to the concert we were going to, and didn't expect that the room'd be that huge! The interior of the room was beautiful! There were a set of sofa, kitchen, two bathrooms, two closets, and the most comfiest king bed I've ever slept! The kitchen has Keurig coffee maker (which we loved a lot), tableware, microwave, and a small refrigerator. Anyway, we had a great time living in such a lovely hotel, but felt kinda disappointed with the breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful hotel to say the least. Great location some of the best service I've ever came across. James and Trevor were absolutely wonderful. The rooms were amazing. Everything you could possibly need in a hotel room

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

My partner and I did a stay-cation about a month ago at this hotel. You see, we live in Frogtown with our four child and can't afford a proper vacation so we settled for a different kind of get away. This weekend was really important to our relationship because it was the first time in 7 years that we were able to hang out one on one without the children. We enjoyed the gym and not having to make breakfast for six. We also really love the location. Downtown St. Paul is wonderful. Thanks for the great service!

Smiles
Leroy Duncan
Crystal Grimes

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was marvelous. I loved how it had that older look to it. It was as if it was the 1960's again. The room was awesome, I wish I could of taken that bed with me it was so comfortable. Lastly, the service was nice. They helped me get around the hotel, and the downtown area.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 340? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 340

Address: 340 Cedar Street, Saint Paul, MN 55101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 340 is a 56 room boutique hotel in the heart of downtown St. Paul. The hotel is housed in the original University Club building and is listed on the historical register. There are numerous restaurants and bars within walking distance as well as access to the river walk which provides stunning views of the Mississippi river as well as the downtown area. All of the rooms at Hotel 340 include updated flat screen televisions as well as hardwood floors throughout. The hotel's suites feature kitchenettes. Many rooms also boast a river or city view to add to your experience. The hotel lobby provides a spacious area with luxurious couches and chairs to relax in while enjoying a drink from the hotel bar and the mezzanine level provides access to the St. Paul skyway system which allows for indoor travel to various St. Paul businesses for all of our visiting business travelers. The Saint Paul Athletic Club is also located within the building and is available to hotel guests for a nominal fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel 340 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 340, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.