We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loveeee it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 340

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel 340 to your Saves list
Hotel 340
340 Cedar Street, Saint Paul, MN 55101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Saint Paul
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We loveeee it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

My boyfriend booked this hotel for it's pretty closed to the concert we were going to, and didn't expect that the room'd be that huge! The interior of the room was beautiful! There were a set of sofa, kitchen, two bathrooms, two closets, and the most comfiest king bed I've ever slept! The kitchen has Keurig coffee maker (which we loved a lot), tableware, microwave, and a small refrigerator. Anyway, we had a great time living in such a lovely hotel, but felt kinda disappointed with the breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    60
    25
    8
    3
See reviews for
26
74
16
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful hotel to say the least. Great location some of the best service I've ever came across. James and Trevor were absolutely wonderful. The rooms were amazing. Everything you could possibly need in a hotel room

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

My partner and I did a stay-cation about a month ago at this hotel. You see, we live in Frogtown with our four child and can't afford a proper vacation so we settled for a different kind of get away. This weekend was really important to our relationship because it was the first time in 7 years that we were able to hang out one on one without the children. We enjoyed the gym and not having to make breakfast for six. We also really love the location. Downtown St. Paul is wonderful. Thanks for the great service!

Smiles
Leroy Duncan
Crystal Grimes

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was marvelous. I loved how it had that older look to it. It was as if it was the 1960's again. The room was awesome, I wish I could of taken that bed with me it was so comfortable. Lastly, the service was nice. They helped me get around the hotel, and the downtown area.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I only spent one night here, but was charmed. My room had a separate sitting room, and a full complement of dishes - real wine glasses, plates, silverware. I had a very nice take-out meal in my room. Not eating off Styrofoam with plastic utensils can make a difference! Bathroom was tiny, tiny, but it's not a place I spend a lot of time. It was very clean. The furniture has obviously seen better days. Give this old-world style hotel a try!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpls., MN
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel during jazz fest. It was just a short walk to Mears Park where the main stage was for the concert was located. I loved the retro look and old time luxury feel the hotel had. The rooms were very clean and well appointed with dark new furniture. The entire place had this European feel to it, right down to the breakfast in the morning. Parking was in the ramp across the street, and considering parking in the cities, I didn't think the location was too bad although it would have been nice to get more of a parking discount.
Everyone was eager to please, including the maintenance man we met in the elevator, who wanted to know and to make sure everything mechanically was in order. Yes, everything was! Would stay here again when choosing a hotel in downtown St. Paul. Thank you Hoterl340 for a great experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel so that we could attend the nearby Jazz Festival! There is not much going on in the evening in the vicinity.
The place is smelly and dark. The AC is train station level noisy.
The Continental Breakfast is ok but the room needs an attendant to keep it clean. Some basics such as napkins and replenishing supplies would be good.
Next time we will have to try the Saint Paul!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 340? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 340

Address: 340 Cedar Street, Saint Paul, MN 55101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 340 is a 56 room boutique hotel in the heart of downtown St. Paul. The hotel is housed in the original University Club building and is listed on the historical register. There are numerous restaurants and bars within walking distance as well as access to the river walk which provides stunning views of the Mississippi river as well as the downtown area. All of the rooms at Hotel 340 include updated flat screen televisions as well as hardwood floors throughout. The hotel's suites feature kitchenettes. Many rooms also boast a river or city view to add to your experience. The hotel lobby provides a spacious area with luxurious couches and chairs to relax in while enjoying a drink from the hotel bar and the mezzanine level provides access to the St. Paul skyway system which allows for indoor travel to various St. Paul businesses for all of our visiting business travelers. The Saint Paul Athletic Club is also located within the building and is available to hotel guests for a nominal fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel 340 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 340, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.