We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and classic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 340

Save Saved
You added Hotel 340 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel 340
340 Cedar Street, Saint Paul, MN   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Recently Renovated Rooms
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Saint Paul
Falls Church, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Comfortable and classic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

No-frills hotel (yes they have wi-fi and tv) in a great location. Beds were comfy and the room was clean. The two bed/ two bath room was perfect for two friends traveling together and the nightly rate was very reasonable. The room was large (necessarily since the two beds are 1K, 1Q). The shower in one of the two baths had NO water pressure, but the other shower was fine. The room also had a refrigerator and Keurig coffee maker.The coffee pods provided with the coffee maker were both decaf, but a thoughtful "comes in a creamer-like container for portion control" Black Coffee Shot of caffeine was provided.
We did not know breakfast was included, and that was convenient, provided in a breakfast room on the same floor as our room (10th). The breakfast was pretty bad, but you could get mediocre coffee and Yoplait, so it was better than nothing.
The lobby is a great space and it is wonderful that this building is being re-purposed in part as a hotel.
The minimal staff is very pleasant.
It helps if you have a sense of humor, since there is a bit of quirkiness here. No vacancy for stuffed shirts.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    52
    23
    8
    3
See reviews for
24
67
14
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My daugher and I stayed here on a Sunday evening in September. It has a beautiful lobby - a bit dark, though. The front desk staff were kind. While we were there the hotel seemed empty - we only saw 4 other guests (in the breakfast room) and none on our floor (the 11th). Our room #1102 was TINY - but, clean. The bed was comfortable and TV had a huge screen (almost too overwhelming for the room) - so may or maynot like that. I opened window for some air and the window had no screen or bars. It was a large window and seemed unsafe. The closet in the room was large, but had a hole in the wall with a little door, which I jokingly tried opening and to my amazement it did open. It appeared to be an old coal shute or a laundry shute? That was spooky, a person could climb in it or fall down it. A child could easily have fallen down into it. Again, our floor the 11th - appeared to have been vacant - which meant it was quiet - eerily quiet. I would not recommend staying in Room #1102 - perhaps a bigger room would be better if two travelers. The breakfast room provided adequate food, but was not serviced by an employee - so it would be nice if every once awhile someone would have cleaned off the tables, etc... Parking across the street was O.K. - but, the attendant seemed puzzled when I handed her my pass from the hotel (for the reduced rate of $17 per 24 hours) - but, did accept the pass. The other thing to note is there is no Hotel sign outside of the hotel. Would we stay threre again ... not sure, but if so - will stay in a larger room - I think we must have had the smallest room in the hotel.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and don't get the cheapest/smallest room .. you get what you pay for! Be careful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Amazing building, great location but a lot of loose ends. Clean linens on the bed but overall the room wasn't real clean. Lots of little maintenance work undone. It was hot as hell when we were there and the air conditioner in the bedroom sounded like it was on its last legs.

Breakfast room was not taken care of and it was hard to find some basics like coffee. Or a table to sit down at.

Positive was the great location. Some great food nearby and a little park where you can sit by the river.

You park across the street. It was discounted but really a pain if you had to go in and out a lot. Staff there always seemed confused on what we had paid for but they aren't hotel staff. To bad they don't have their own parking.

Didn't feel like it was worth the price but may try it again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee,WI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Step through the entrance into an amazing lobby - grand piano, huge fireplace, coaches, space and space. The staircase ascends to a 2nd floor overlooking the whole view. Very nice when coming in from the busy streets.
The staff were very friendly and approachable. They were willing to help solve any problem we had (which we didn't have, but they were ready to help out).
The beds were amazingly comfortable, probably the most comfy I have slept on in a hotel in years. And the breakfast area was set up to easily meet other people if you want to.
Great historic building, wonderfully renovated to today's standards.

Room Tip: We had a two king bed suite. Lots of space. We didn't really use the kitchenette since we were o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We enjoyed our small, hardwood-floored, efficiency room in this cool old hotel. It was very clean and everything worked well. The location was perfect for a concert at the Excel center and getting a room for less than $100 in this downtown location felt like a good deal. Parking was $17 in a nearby ramp that supposedly allowed unlimited in-and-out.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights during the state fair. The efficiency room was small yet very cool, the atmosphere is like that of a high end hotel. It's not bad for the price, you get cable, coffee maker and iron inside the room plus free breakfast. Parking is $17/day, there's a bridge that connects the parking to the building. There's a bus stop right in front, if you're not driving you can take the bus to downtown Minneapolis. Very vintage...classic!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Last minute get away - newly discovered property - disappointing experience. Temps in the 90s outdors enter inside room facing unkept rooftop, unreliable, poorly operating air conditioner, toilet wouldn't flush, remote for the tv missing, coffee maker wouldn't work. Hmm, too much money spent with too little return.

Room Tip: Make sure your room doesn't face the rooftop area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 340? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 340

Address: 340 Cedar Street, Saint Paul, MN
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 340 is a 56 room boutique hotel in the heart of downtown St. Paul. The hotel is housed in the original University Club building and is listed on the historical register. There are numerous restaurants and bars within walking distance as well as access to the river walk which provides stunning views of the river as well as the downtown area. All of the rooms at Hotel 340 include updated flat screen televisions as well as hardwood floors throughout. The hotel's suites feature kitchenettes. Many rooms also boast a river or city view to add to your experience. The hotel lobby provides a spacious area with luxurious couches and chairs to relax in while enjoying a drink from the hotel bar and the mezzanine level provides access to the St. Paul skyway system which allows for indoor travel to various St. Paul businesses for all of our visiting business travelers. The Saint Paul Athletic Club is also located within the building and is available to hotel guests for daily fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel 340 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 340, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.