We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be very nice with more investment.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 340

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel 340 to your Saves list
Hotel 340
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   340 Cedar Street, Saint Paul, MN 55101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Could be very nice with more investment.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel has the potential to be a wonderful boutique hotel if management decides to put more energy and money into it. It is located on 2 floors (soon to be 3?) of a beautiful and historic building, which is also an Athletic Club. The lobby is quite exquisite.
The first room we were given had a broken air conditioner and it was an extremely hot weekend.
In the second room it worked, but very loudly. Also the room smelled of cigarette smoke. The desk clerk smelled it when he walked in and promised air freshener, which never came.
The breakfast room was too small to accommodate all the guests, even though there was a 4 or 5 hour window for breakfast. It was not staffed, so when someone finished eating, there was no one to help clean, or were there cleaning supplies around for the guests. Also, during the 3 mornings we were there they ran out of things like napkins, silverware, and plates. The only way to get these things was if a desk clerk came up from the lobby to the 10th floor. The staff was very nice, but seemed to be college students who were not well trained.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    74
    31
    12
    3
See reviews for
32
98
17
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The front desk was super friendly,extremely helpful. Sarah was especially kind and was eager to help out in every manner. The hotel has Beautiful architecture, and our room had a fabulous bed, great city view, and perfect proximity to the continental breakfast (10th floor). I love the classy hardwood floors, and the roomy closet space.
Your search is over, stay here!

Room Tip: Ask for the 10th floor, city view, king room;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ONALASKA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed on a Tuesday night for a concert at the Roy Wilkins Auditorium. The location was excellent. We took the sky walk the whole way and stayed out of the rain. When we got to our room we were pleasantly surprised that we had been upgraded to a king suite instead of the queen we booked. The room was huge and very comfortable. The staff was very friendly both at check in and check out. Overall we were very happy with our stay! Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Very nice lobby. Not huge, not cramped. Helpful staff. Very nice room. Classy and comfortable feel. Good firm (not hard at all) bed. Nice continental breakfast served from 6-11am. I think they did good and the price is rather cheap for the location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My daughter & I went to the Bruno Mars concert and stayed at Hotel 340 for one night. We stayed in an efficiency room for a great rate. The room was small, but it was really clean and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast that was included was good also. This hotel is only a few blocks to the Xcel Energy Center and many really nice restaurants. It was an easy walk for us, and we felt safe. It is a quiet area, not a party atmosphere (if you are looking for that I'd stay elsewhere).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level Contributor
121 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We recently stayed at Hotel 340 for three days. The lobby area of this old hotel is so beautiful that I took pictures of it to remember it. The staff was great. We checked into the hotel in the middle of the night because of a very late flight, and they could not have been any nicer. Our room was huge and tastefully decorated. The complimentary breakfast was delicious. The hotel is within walking distance of many good restaurants, shops, and other attractions in St. Paul. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

To begin with our reservation was incorrect and I did it personally the old-school way via telephone and actually talking to somebody to someone at the reservations desk. When we checked in at 7 pm less than a week later the number of rooms was incorrect. We were able to get a 2nd room, but when my family went in it had clearly not been cleaned. We found dirty sheets/towels and dirty dishes from a previous meal. The desk manager, the ONLY hotel staff member on site, said the cleaning staff must have missed that room, and being the only staff member on site nothing could be done about it. We were offered a rollaway for our room for my daughter, and my son was given some type of leftover room that was the size of a very small single college dorm room. The manager Sarah did the best she could but her options were limited. In addition there is peeling paint and strong evidence of badly needed maintenance. We were extremely disappointed and would never stay there again nor would we recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel 340? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 340

Address: 340 Cedar Street, Saint Paul, MN 55101
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 340 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 340 is a 56 room boutique hotel in the heart of downtown St. Paul. The hotel is housed in the original University Club building and is listed on the historical register. There are numerous restaurants and bars within walking distance as well as access to the river walk which provides stunning views of the Mississippi river as well as the downtown area. All of the rooms at Hotel 340 include updated flat screen televisions as well as hardwood floors throughout. The hotel's suites feature kitchenettes. Many rooms also boast a river or city view to add to your experience. The hotel lobby provides a spacious area with luxurious couches and chairs to relax in while enjoying a drink from the hotel bar and the mezzanine level provides access to the St. Paul skyway system which allows for indoor travel to various St. Paul businesses for all of our visiting business travelers. The Saint Paul Athletic Club is also located within the building and is available to hotel guests for a nominal fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel 340 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 340, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.