We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden wonder!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Snelling State Park

Fort Snelling State Park
101 Snelling Lake Rd, Saint Paul, MN 55111
612-725-2389
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 63 attractions in Saint Paul
Type: State Parks, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Historic Sites
Activities: Running
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Located on Pike Island, this scenic state park is one of Minnesota's most visited attractions, which features trails for cross-country skiing, hiking and mountain biking.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A hidden wonder!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Its a quick escape from the rat race live in the big cities. Very close and feels so far away! A beautiful place to view the river and the colorful leaves.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    40
    13
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Forest Lake, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

we enjoyed wondering thru the park on a beautiful fall day- even saw a bunch of big turkeys walking thru!
breathtaking the amount of people that have served our country- thank you

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great trails”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

There are so many trails to walk and many great views. We were surprised at how many additional trails there were that were not on the park map. It made me think the place is not as well maintained as other state parks. There were so many deer around! We saw probably close to 40 including several bucks. One was so impressive, my husband exclaimed several times it was the largest he's ever seen. In fact, the buck did look grizzled under his large rack as though he's managed to survive on Pike Island, evading the periodic hunts that take place and the flooding, for more years than an average deer does!
We finished our hike around 6:30-7pm. The trails begain to fill with young people that I don't normally see hiking trails at a state park, but considering this is an urban location I suppose it's visited by more. However, after seeing a few broken beer bottles on the trail, I would admit this did make me wonder about safety, etc...

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very nice to visit for the events”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We're not sure how much do you see during the weekday, but as we got there for the Saturday show, it was very nice. We had the show with the cannon shooting, young kids drilling and exhibitions. The place is nice overall, but needs more activities for the kids.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Geo-Caching/Hiking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We love hiking in this Park and taking Photos. This they moved the the geo-cache hike to a different part of the park. I really like hiking around Pike Island.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Snelling State Park also viewed

 

Been to Fort Snelling State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Snelling State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Fort Snelling State Park to your Saves list