We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Burger Choices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Door Pub

The Blue Door Pub
1811 Selby Ave, Saint Paul, MN 55104-6031
651-493-1865
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 790 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Pub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Burger Choices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Minneapolis-St. Paul area is known for Its "Juicy Lucy", which is two hamburger patties bound together with cheese in the center. At the Blue Door Pub they serve a different variation called the "Bluecy" which uses blue cheese instead of American cheese. Besides the "Bluecy" they also offer other varieties. I chose a Thai inspired burger with coconut milk infused mozzarella and thai flavored vegetables on top with a curry dipping sauce. So the "Juicy Lucy" has been amped up and made fancier so to speak! My choice was quite good. The freshness of the crisp vegetables with the dipping sauce made for an excellent taste. The only complaint was that the cheese in the center was somewhat lacking which isn't usually the case with these type of burgers.

Besides cheese infused burgers many of the patrons were also enjoying chicken wings in which I heard people stating that they enjoyed. My wife, who is not much of a meat eater, had a grilled cheese that they agreed to prepare with cooked onions and mushrooms which she loved. Besides fries which appear to be hand made the Blue Door also offers tater tots and deep fried green beans as sides. The additional $3 charge for the green bean side seems to be a tad high but I noted many people chose these so I assume they are worth the cost?

All of this food was served promptly and with a smile. The Blue Door doesn't have too much seating so if you go I wouldn't suggest a group larger than 4 people with just a couple being the most ideal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    44
    13
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“Food is good, but wayyy to busy for me!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The food was great, but we ended up having to take it to go because we could hardly fit in the door. With the wait being over a hour and a half at 8pm they should really have a way to make reservations.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“First Love”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

It would be terrible to say that I'd choose a Juicy Lucy over any man...any day... but it's almost true. Unless you're my man, who just so happens to love a BDP burger almost as much as I do, you are SOL. No hard feelings. Blue Door Pub was our first date.
Always make sure to get there about a half hour before your stomach decides to eat itself out of starvation. There will be a wait. No ifs, ands or buts. It's how you know this place is so good, so take advantage of the wait. Put your name down, Walk down to Patina and browse their nick knacks, or grab a beer at the bar and sneak back to play an arcade or two.

Start out with the Cheese curds. For the love of Cheese Curds... They put the State Fair Cheese Curds to shame because they are classy, and not something you have to scoop out of the grease with a spoon.

Neeeeeext. The burger... Feel free to pick something amazing off the menu (even the classic is wonderful) or go brave and try the burger of the moment. You won't be disappointed. Get a side of Cajun tots. Fries are nothing to rave about, but the Cajun tots bring a smile to my cold soul.

Not really a place for kids, because it takes a special person to appreciate these burgers, and not some 3 yr old who's going to rip it apart and smash it into the table. (no offense, I love kids...but I have more respect for the burger). Kids who are a bit older fit in, if they are ok with crowded spaces. The booths along the East wall are lined up along a blackboard equipped with colored chalk. Pretty awesome, but you're never guaranteed a spot there.

My boyfriend loves it, my parents love it, my siblings love it, the boyfriend's parents loved it...the list goes on. This place is the bees knees.

And if you're cool enough, try the BDP Challenge. Hey, least you can walk away with is a free t shirt.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Pub Food, just remember its a Pub!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

every time i came by this place it was packed, so i decided to go in and find out what it was all about.

its a Pub! - why is that important? because if you are expecting a calm quiet atmosphere, then you should really go elsewhere.

it is rather loud when the crowd gathers, and there seems to always be people waiting. seating is rather tight but the locals are friendly, and after all its a Pub! you come here to talk loudly, drink, have a good time with your buddies, not to commiserate.

the variety of hamburgers is great, the different kinds of juicy lucy's, a twin cities favorite is awesome. burgers burgers burgers and lots of other greasy appetizers, i warned you this was a Pub!. you are not here to keep your diet, tho the salads looked pretty good i should say..

my burger was the defibrillator, two patties added bacon and onion rings...yummmmmm...get your hands dirty kind of food - gotta love it.

the service is very friendly always with a smile and always prompt! they will find you among the sea of people that eat here and they will bring your food fast! go figure!

good food friendly fast service, its all good

...except for possibly the parking situation. if you are one of the lucky ones who find space in the tight parking lot next door you're good otherwise, get ready for street parking, certainly not as bad as in the downtown, but not so much fun.

go! enjoy! have a burger! forget your diet!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Long wait!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Wanted to eat here after the DDD review. Very small and noisy place. Very disorganized upon entry. Staff wasn't very helpful with traffic flow. If you don't mind people watching you eat because of standing room, go ahead. We left and went to nearby 128 Cafe. What a gem! Best burgers are still to be found at Twisted Root Burger Company in DFW!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Door Pub also viewed

 
Saint Paul, MN
 

Been to The Blue Door Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Door Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.