We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Door Pub

The Blue Door Pub
1811 Selby Ave, Saint Paul, MN 55104-6031
651-493-1865
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 785 restaurants in Saint Paul
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Pub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Well worth the trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Read about the Blue Door on TA and coerced my family to go there for lunch. We we not disappointed with anything. They made accommodations for us despite our large group. Service was great and exceeded only by the quality of the food. Great selection of local/crafted beers.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    65
    37
    11
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, MN
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great, popular place for burgers.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

The Blue Door Pub is very popular around here, and with good reason - their food is fantastic and their menu unique. The beer-battered green beans are definitely worth a try.
Service, location and atmosphere are all wonderful.
A long wait for a table is a big drawback, but on weekdays or at lunch time there is often no wait at all. I'd suggest going at those times so you can enjoy The Blue Door without the painful wait!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good burgers good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The Blue Door Pub is an institution in the Fairview area of St. Paul. It is small but it is almost always busy due to the good Juicy Blucy burgers.they are their flagship burger! They are stuffed bleu cheese and finely chopped garlic into a half-pound of Angus beef. And they are only $6.50!
They have many other stuffed burgers as well and great Tater Tots as a side. Plenty to share.
One word of caution, if you are going for lunch go early or late. Prime time makes for a long wait although most of the patrons are mindful of the next seating od customers and don't linger too long. Great value and nice servers.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharonville, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Great little place with the best Bleucy. (I hope I'm spelling that right) This was the first we had heard about this local burger. It was so good that I may never go to Red Robin again. We need to spread the word on this to the other states!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ok food, tight space!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Tried this place after hearing about it on Food Network. This place was so small and the crowd made for a very cramped space. I had the Blucy burger. It was ok and the tater tots were extra. It was a one time novelty, but would not go out of my way again

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Door Pub also viewed

 

Been to The Blue Door Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Door Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.