We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This a must visit for families with young children” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Minnesota Children's Museum

Minnesota Children's Museum
10 W Seventh St, Saint Paul, MN 55102
+1 651-225-6000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 54 Attractions in Saint Paul
Type: Children's Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Where creative play meets learning for children birth to 10 and their adults. Museum Hours Tuesday - Thursday 9 am - 4 pm Friday & Saturday 9 am - 8 pm Sunday 9 am - 5 pm Closed school-year Mondays (Labor Day through Memorial Day), Easter, July 4, Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve and Christmas Day
Minnesota
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“This a must visit for families with young children”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

We have spent many days here with our kids. Very interactive, will take them more than one visit to explore everything. Also a great option for birthday parties.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    26
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“spend a day at the museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

I've been to the Children's Museum multiple times as a chaperone for field trips for children 5-8 years of age. It's a wonderful educational opportunity for children to exercise their creativity.

In the summer the roof top patio is open and various art projects are provided in the garden, there's a giant ant hill which is a hoot for kids to crawl around in and explore, live animal presentations, and so much more.

It's a wonderful place to visit with your children. My parents even took me there when I was young and I have fond memories of it!

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Nice job - plenty to keep active kids involved...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Lots of interesting hands-on stuff... a fun place for older folks to bring kids and enjoy watching them play (and learn at the same time.) Parking is kind of a challenge and costly... along with a hefty admission...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A blast at the Children's Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We have taken our daughter to the MN Children's Museum at 1 and 2 years old and now at 4. It is always interesting to see what she can do and explore at each age. The museum never disappoints. I'm glad that it has it's stationary exhibits. These never disappoint at any age. In fact, we had never made it into the forest exhibit before and found it to be a great new place to explore for older ages. We finally had to put the cap on almost three hours there as we as parents were exhausted! I love the traveling/changing exhibits because there is always something new. Grossology, the study of burps, farts, snot, and skin, is the current new exhibit. It grossed me out but my daughter was fascinated by snot and digesting. I had to step out of the room for a while while my husband followed her around!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Adventure but plan accordingly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

There are peak periods at the museum and the website and staff detail. Days off from school or mid day on the weekends can make this awesome experience a complete headache. The museum is a wonderful treasure but can be thoroughly enjoyed with fewer people. Friday and Saturday nights are amazingly quiet and sometimes they even offer a combo option with pizza!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minnesota Children's Museum also viewed

 

Been to Minnesota Children's Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minnesota Children's Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.