We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Economy Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint Paul
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Economy Inn
Save
You added Economy Inn to your Saves list
149 University Ave, Saint Paul, MN 55101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Saint Paul
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Worst hotel ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011 via mobile

This hotel is so ghetto that I would not allow a pig to spend a night in the hotel. Worst ever seen

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    0
    0
    5
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

I'm sorry but this hotel is so gross that I wouldn't let my dog spend a night here. The prices are actually high considering this might be the most ghetto and disgusting hotel in the city.

If you are looking for a cheap hotel close to downtown or Regions Hospital, this location is perfect but I hope you don't mind drug users and the occasional shots fired. This place looks like it has a contract with the county to temporarily house the homeless people in transition. I'm not joking about that.

The stairwells smelled like urine and the place is dirty with scary people around. Look elsewhere unless you don't mind filth.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

This place is a dump!

People beg for money in the very small parking lot. People wait around the main key-card locked door in order to sneak in behind you. The place reeks of smoke (only certain rooms are non-smoking).
Just yesterday some homeless man found his way into the building and tripped the fire-escape alarm; I had to call and tell the management about the alarm (because after 5 minutes it was clear nobody else was going to). The manager just shut it off and went back to his on-site house without caring to investigate why it went off to begin with. 15 minutes later, the homeless man had gotten beat up by a resident or guest. The now beaten man continued to walk down the hallways with a broken nose and holding his sides. He had to find a Hospital worker who was on his way home to help him (after everyone at the motel refused to help). Police had to come and take away the suspect.
I’ve called management about all the problem-people; but I just get the same response every time, “we are located in the city,,,so,,,,there are going to be those type of people around”.

As for my room.
There are pry marks on the door (have been there for over 3 months). The bathroom doorknob has been kicked in, so you can’t close that door. The toilet can hardly flush urine, so if you have to do anything more than that, you will have to use a restroom before you return to the motel. The balconies are just for decoration since you can’t actually walk out onto them.

Bottom line: you will actually get a better deal by going somewhere else and spending waaaayyy more! Or maybe just sleep in your car.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2009

This has to be the poorest quality hotel I've ever visited...Exposed wires on wall, exposed light wall fixtures, missing bulbs in lamps, one bed had no headboard, shower had no trap drain; just a hole in the floor, toilet tissue placed on the back of the toilet because there was no toilet tissue holder bar, room smelled like it had been used for a smoking room, cracks in the walls, dirty bedspread, the carpet was very badly stained, bathroom sink had slow drainage and to top this off, the cost of the room rental was $70.00. The checkout time was 11am and I was approached by the cleaning person before this time to see if I was leaving so she could clean my room; that's a real laugh...

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Economy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Economy Inn

Address: 149 University Ave, Saint Paul, MN 55101
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Economy Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.