We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Capitol Ridge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Capitol Ridge to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Capitol Ridge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   161 St Anthony Ave, Saint Paul, MN 55103-2362 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Kelly Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Saint Paul
Onalaska, United States
1 review
“Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My niece was married at Summit Manor which was only aoubt a mile from the hotel. The hotel was very nice. The staff were extremely helpful. The room was very clean and had no odors which is very important to me. The beds were very comfortable which is important to my husband.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyInnManagement, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Capitol Ridge, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank You for staying with the Kelly Inn for you Niece's wedding. I am glad that we had the opportunity to provide you with great service. I hope that you will come join us again whenever you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    77
    34
    19
    13
See reviews for
65
43
18
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Forest Lake, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The room was comfortable and clean with updated décor. The staff was friendly and helpful. The Lounge had a nice atmosphere and the service was great! We used a promotional coupon and were pleasantly surprised with the level of the accommodations.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyInnManagement, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Capitol Ridge, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank You for staying with us and I am glad that you had a wonderful stay. Please join us again and ask about our special packages that we have to offer. Thank You for being loyal to our brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipestone, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed here on the 14th of Sept for a conference. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Restaurant/Bar had good food and service was very good. Sat outside but it was very noisy with the traffic. Rooms were clean not real big, bathroom was pretty small, beds were great. Had a business section which was good because I didn't bring a laptop. Located next to the capital so it was a nice location., Free parking which you don't always get. No breakfast, which is always a plus so that was a negative. Had a free paper at the door in the morning which is a nice amenity. Overall had a good experience and would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyInnManagement, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Capitol Ridge, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank You for staying with us and I am glad to hear that you enjoy your stay, Make sure that when you come back sign up for our Best Western Rewards card if you haven't. This will get you 10 points per $1 that you spend at the hotel here. This will be good towards gifts cards and free night stays. Again Thank You for being loyal to our brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loganville, Georgia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a big city hotel with many amenities. One of the best is ample, free parking. It overlooks I-94, so there is some road noise. Also, there was an unusual amount of motorcycle noise late at night. However, our trusty white noise machine, which travels with us everywhere, did a good job of masking most of it. What it did not mask was the smoke alarm start beeping at 2:30 AM giving the low battery warning. Smoke alarms must be designed to do this in the middle of the night. We had to remove the entire smoke alarm from the ceiling to remove the battery. Even with the battery out it still kept beeping - at least for awhile. How is this possible? We wrapped it in a towel and closed it in the bathroom. So they need to keep an eye on the life of their smoke alarm batteries. Otherwise things were fine - though there was that dreaded duvet with no thin blanket alternative. There is no complimentary breakfast, but there are many great breakfast places nearby.

Room Tip: Face away from I-94 (and possibly bring a 9 volt battery).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyInnManagement, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Capitol Ridge, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. We will make sure that our maintenance department changes the battery frequently so that no one experience that again.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

If you are staying because of the location to the State Capital, PERFECT hotel! But that's about it.

Although they do have free parking the hotel it pretty rundown and you are definitely paying for location, location, location...the doors to the rooms are like narrow closet doors with 20 coats of paint over them...bathroom doors are the same and are hard to close because of so much paint. King room was large but felt like I was in a India or Middle East with all the fabric in the room from the curtains to the bed skirt. Bed was on the hard side. It met our basic needs of sleeping as we left as soon as we checked in an didn't return until 11pm, but pretty much a basic 2 star hotel with a bar/grill attached.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyInnManagement, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Capitol Ridge, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your comment regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. We are in the process of a full renovation so come join us. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

close to childrens museum and quick drive to Como park was great (that is why we chose this location) but really wish breakfast was included (without an additional cost), more attention to all details of cleanliness is required (drawers)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyInnManagement, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Capitol Ridge, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your comment regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winona, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The service was great, the room was very nice and I had a great view. The restaurant was ok, the food was average and the prices were also about average, but it was convenient. The shuttle service was a major plus!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyInnManagement, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Capitol Ridge, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank You for staying with us Jenny. Like you said the shuttle is always a plus. We run shuttles to all the MN Wild games as well as all the concerts down at the Xcel. During the state fair we will run guest back and forth every hour as well. Hope you come back and join us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Capitol Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Capitol Ridge

Address: 161 St Anthony Ave, Saint Paul, MN 55103-2362 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Kelly Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Capitol Ridge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of St. Paul's best hotels, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Capitol Ridge provides lodging accommodations near the Xcel Energy Center, Rivercentre Convention Center, The Minnesota's State Capitol, and the Minnesota State Fairgrounds. We are also convenient to area businesses such as Lawson Software, Ecolab, and 3M and area attractions like the MN Science Museum and the Ordway Theater. When visiting St. Paul, Minnesota make the BEST WESTERN PLUS Capitol Ridge your first choice for St. Paul Minnesota hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Capitol Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Kelly Hotel Saint Paul
Best Western Kelly Hotel
Best Western Saint Paul
Saint Paul Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Capitol Ridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.