We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cathedral Hill Bed and Breakfast

Cathedral Hill Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Paul
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cathedral Hill Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Cathedral Hill Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
488 Holly Avenue, Saint Paul, MN 55102   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Saint Paul B&B and Inns
Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We went here for the weekend and it was very nice! A great place to stay in St Paul, so close to Grand Ave and all the nice things.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peace Dale, Rhode Island, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Cathedral Hill while our son was doing a visit down the road at Macalester College. The inn is located in a fantastic neighborhood for walking, dining and shopping and Bill had provided a very good walking tour guide in our room information. For those from the Boston areas, the neighborhood reminds me of the best of Brookline, Cambridge and Boston's South End.

The inn itself is great, very well appointed and comfortable for the guest. Bill is a very congenial host and makes a mean scrambled egg! I would love to be there in the summer to be able to sit in the garden.

As, unfortunately, I had some work to do during our stay so I can comment that the wireless internet is fast, as I was able to download a large file while accessing my work desktop via VPN on a small netbook.

While our son did not choose Macalester, my wife and I believe we will be back to Cathedral Hill to spend some more time in St. Paul and enjoy Bill's hospitality.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Canto Room in the king bed configuration and it was a great night's sleep and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

You walk the Summit Avenue, looking at gorgeous old houses and wonder what it's like to live in such houses? The B & B stands only two blocks from the Summit Avenue in a quiet neighborhood and you get a feel of living in a historic house. The building materials such as frames and all wood works are truly exceptional, you hardly come across such houses nowadays. We went there in the night and it was all dark, so it was a bit hard to find the B & B. You need to know the address, otherwise it can be missed. Bill was still up and welcomed us in spite of the time we arrived. The house is over 100 years old, and you can see many nice old furniture and old photographs of his family on the walls. Our Iminijaska Suite was large and had beautiful windows, through wich we could see other historic houses in the neighborhood. The B & B stands in a very convenient location, a walking distance to Selby Avenue where many restaurants are, Summit Avenue where James Hill house and the Cathedral are, and Grant Avenue where stores are. There are not many guest rooms, so it is very quiet, homely and you can get to know & enjoy talking with other guests at dining rooms. Breakfast was very good. First day Bill served us fruits, toast and Quesadia. On the second day, we had french toasts and fruits, and everything was very tasty. The room was warm in spite of the late fall season, and had a refrigerator and there were soda pops and water. We went to the kitchen if we could have hot drinks, then, Bill made cups of hot tea for us. He was always attentive, friendly and made us feel like staying at home. How many times do we have opportunities to stay at a beautiful old house in a historic site like this? We stayed at many nice but half-commercialized B & Bs before, but this was really a homely, nice, and memorable experience.

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview, Tennessee
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

This is the only B&B in St.Paul and offers a private, warm, homey lodging. It is located in a quite area close to major roads and fantastic old homes with lots of charm. If you like the B&B experience, you cannot go wrong with staying here. We sat in the kitchen and chatted with the owner and were made to feel like welcomed friends.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Charming, attractive, memorable? Check. Friendly? Comfortable? Double Check. Did I consider that writing a positive review would publicize it and then it would always be booked when I visited St. Paul? Triple check, but the world needs to know about this place.

Located on one of the prettiest blocks in St. Paul's most stunning neighborhood, Cathedral Hill B&B is at first blush just another well-tended Victorian home. But inside is a riot of woodwork and antiques, meticulously and lovingly restored (a woodworker was hired to restore the extensive original woodwork in the house and it took him 14 months). The decor is carefully selected to reflect the early 20th century, after the gas-lit era but before the roaring Twenties. Ask the proprietor, Mr. Gray. He'll happily sit down and regale you with stories and details. Or ask him while he's serving the waffles or preparing the fresh fruit. Helpful and avuncular, he's the quintessential host; present but not hovering, attentive but not solicitous; purveyor of endless early-morning coffee and good humor; and preparer of really delicious scrambled eggs. One morning we had breakfast outdoors, a casual and sunlit affair. Other mornings we were treated to the formal dining room, where the sterling pitchers and crystal were put to full use.

We stayed in the King Room, which was comfortable and inviting. The only disadvantage to this room is that its bathroom is across the floor. However, it was private to the room, and boasted an enormous tub, and we never felt overly inconvenienced. Anyway, the short walk afforded a view of more fine antique furniture lining the hallway.

Cathedral Hill sets the standard.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Bill Gray has taken what was his family home and turned it into a first class B and B, running as high quality and reasonably priced Bed and Breakfast as you'll find in the Twin Cities. Located just off beautiful Selby Ave (home of Garrison Keillors Common Good Books), Bill will offer you everything imaginable to make your stay comfortable, optimizing all the best sights and dining in the vicinity. The home is spacious, with beautiful touches and comfort. Breakfasts on the back porch were equisite. Bill really has it going on--I can't think of a place in the Twin Cities that offers better value (and I've stayed at a half dozen).

Room Tip: Discuss with Bill your needs and he'll find the best room for you at the best price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordentown, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

We have stayed in many B&B's and this ranks as one of the very nicest. The house is gorgeous and lovingly maintained. The neighborhood is fascinating and within just a short walk are great restaurants and shops. What made our stay special, however, was the kindness and graciousness of our host, Bill. On learning that we were in St. Paul to visit our daughter who is a student there, he insisted that we invite her to join us for breakfast at no extra charge. He even gladly catered to her vegan diet. Our room was beautiful, quiet and immaculate. The only "drawback" to this gem of a B&B is its size (actually, of course, it's a virtue). It has very few rooms so it's wise to book ahead.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cathedral Hill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral Hill Bed and Breakfast

Address: 488 Holly Avenue, Saint Paul, MN 55102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 1896 Victorian, in the historic district of St. Paul, combines pure comfort and true elegance. Choice of continental, standard or full breakfast. In room internet access and direct tv, private meeting space in Victorian parlor. Nearby: Summit, Selby and Grand Avenues, downtown, several colleges, museums, 15 minutes to airport, and 15 minutes to Minneapolis. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cathedral Hill Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.