We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for us.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Minnesota History Center

Minnesota History Center
345 Kellogg Blvd W, Saint Paul, MN 55102-1903
651 296 6126
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 54 Attractions in Saint Paul
Type: History Museums, Museums
Activities: Arts and crafts
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum makes ingenious use of its 44,000 square feet and two million items.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good for us.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Lots of local pride and careful attention to the way we lived then. They have been provided with lots of memorabilia and there's an attention to all the communities, large and small. Good vibes. Healthy self-esteem and deserved accomplishments.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    53
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Indian War exhibit excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We visited here on the free Tuesday night offering.

After spending the summer visiting all the out state sites, this exhibit really added to our understanding of the circumstances that led to the horrible execution of the 38 men in Mankato more than one hundred years ago.

The photos and historic diaries of the events are enlightening.

The exhibit is on until September, 2013 and so worth seeing. If you come after 5 pm on Tuesday all you have to pay for is parking. Bring lots of quarters for the meters.

The other exhibits looked very interesting but we will return to spend more time on each one rather than be rushed through and over tired.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Who knew there was so much to Minnesota”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The Minnesota History Center is the only place I know where you can bring kids of all ages & find something that interests them all. The staff & volunteers are very helpful, the hands on exhibits work wonders with younger kids & my teenager loved the greatest generation exhibit. We were so busy, we never got a chance to visit the cafe or gift shop. The center is located close to the Cathedral & the State Capitol Building in downtown Saint Paul, with easy access to the freeway. It is open late on Tuesday nights to allow those with busy schedules to visit during the week.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Field Trip Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Great time exploring the musuem and the kids loved the Tornado exhibit! I personally like the Walls Could Talk exhibit - very neat!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, IL
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very Well Done”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We wanted to see a couple of their exhibits starting with the "Greatest Generation." This exhibit was so interesting that we spent our entire time there and never got to see anything else. We'll have to go back on your next trip to MN. Be sure to see the film presentation inside the troop transport carrier--very realistic.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minnesota History Center also viewed

 

Been to Minnesota History Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minnesota History Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.