We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like the other Crave locations, is good but not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crave

Crave
1603 West End Boulevard, Saint Louis Park, MN 55416
952 933 6500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Crave is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Park Place and 16th
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
773 reviews 773 reviews
392 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 197 cities Reviews in 197 cities
488 helpful votes 488 helpful votes
“Like the other Crave locations, is good but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This should be a great place to go if you like sushi but your counterparts do not. There is an extensive menu of both traditional fare and sushi. The problem is the sushi is just not great. Don't get me wrong, its perfectly fine, just not great. If I were just eating sushi, I'd head across the street to Raku. I've been to this location a dozen times now and have sampled many of the other menu items. The best is probably the crab crusted filet on the dinner menu. Quite good. The bar is usually busy for happy hour and they have a nice back room for large parties. Service is usually fine.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    41
    21
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“What an interesting find - local ingredients, artfully prepared”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I went there for dinner with a business colleague, on the suggestion of the Doubletree staff and the lure of a free appetizer with the coupon they gave us. The place was very busy on a Wednesday night, always a good sign. We were seated promptly in the bar area at a high side table. The wines and beers on offer were nicely chosen, not the usual stuff, with a good mix of regions and styles represented. My colleague ordered a local IPA draft beer, and I had a nice glass of wine while we considered the menu. We started with the lamb meatballs, five succulent spheres with wedges of pita bread and sriracha chili sauce. They were offering some special entrees that benefitted local service agencies, so I ordered a mushroom meat loaf that was perfectly baked, soft and juicy, with a layer of wild mushrooms in a brown sauce. My colleague had a beef burger that was anything but ordinary, with great flavor and a toasty bun. We skipped dessert because we had plenty of food (plus a big lunch too).
It was good value overall. Though some of the entrees were priced on the higher end, we felt that it was worth the price paid. (Of course, the free appetizer helped.) Get there for happy hour if you can, when appetizers and some drinks are marked down by about half their regular price.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Big selection of the menu and ambiance make this choice a no-brainer. Brittany, our server, handled our party of ten like a pro. Cocktails were excellent, great appetizers, and most of us ordered steaks which were perfect: filet and rib-eye. Sushi choices were abundant as well. Complimentary cake and ice cream was served for the birthday gal in our party.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“LOVE this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This restaurant is one of the main drivers why I stay in St Louis Park when I travel to Minnie. The food is always good, the ambiance is casual chic and the people watching is otherworldly :)

Highly recommended

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“2 Visits, Both Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I had lunch and dinner her on my recent business visit. The staff was professional and attentive without being annoying.

It has an interesting menu, and everything from the sliders to the steak were well prepared. They also have sushi, and fun appetizer menu and happy hour.

I look forward to my next visit.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crave also viewed

Saint Louis Park, MN
 
Saint Louis Park, MN
Saint Louis Park, MN
 

Been to Crave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.