We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kayla's Drama.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express St. Cloud

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express St. Cloud to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express St. Cloud
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   4322 Clearwater Road, Saint Cloud, MN 56301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Saint Cloud
1 review
“Kayla's Drama.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The front desk service was terrible. I was staying with a group for a basketball tournament. The front desk lady, Kayla was very rude. The parents were talking and enjoying themselves, but were kicked out of the pool area, so they went to the breakfast area, and were kicked out of there too. They then went to a hallway by their rooms and were quiet and not roudy, but were told to go to a room. While in the room, someone knocked on the door, to our surprise, it was the police. Four of them actually. Kayla called the police on us and reported false statements. We were not being roudy and were minding our own business. The police were rude, and we didn't want any trouble. My whole group is unimpressed and will not be coming back.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Cloud, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Upsetpeople,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Saint Cloud.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    44
    14
    5
    9
See reviews for
38
24
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This Holiday Inn Express in St.Cloudl is "thee" worst hotel I have ever stayed in. We are here for a basketball tournament and several families from our teams are staying here.

The front desk staff lady called the police around 11:30 because only 5 of the basketball parents had not went back to there rooms & were standing outside their rooms, the others all had retreated to their rooms after we all got kicked out of the hotel's sitting area. These parents were just finishing their conversation & not being loud at all. The front staff said they need to go to bed. One mom stated to the staff lady that we should have stayed at the Hilton since we can always stay up & visit there. So the front desk lady proceeded to then call the police. It was completely ridiculous. We could not even have our doors open a slight bit. The funny thing is that the police officers didn't even agree with the hotel staff. He stated they get called here all the time for minute reasons. It was by far the worst hotel experience ever!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Cloud, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear 7marts,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. Please accept my apologies for receiving an unacceptable service from our staff. Kindly be assured that this matter will be looked into and actions will be taken accordingly. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Kayla at the front desk was rude, not customer service oriented, and created HER OWN drama! We were schocked after our group of 5 left the pool area and were told we couldn't visit in the lobby or in the breakfast area. We were standing in front of our room talking softly (we had the rooms in common), wheen she asked us to step inside which we did. Shortly after, we were schocked when a police officer showed up at our door. We have been non confrontational and minding our own business. Stunned over Kayla's reaction from the front desk, this must be a power trip or she enjoys the attention! We have never experienced anything like this.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Cloud, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear savvychick40,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you may have had because of the unacceptable behavior you received from our staff during your stay. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our beloved guests. I will follow up with the staff to ensure similar incidents could be avoided. We look forward to welcoming you back in order to provide you with great hotel experience.

Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.
Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The staff at the front desk was helpful and courteous. Checking in and out was easy. As a frequent traveler and priority club member I expect a few things. First would be a microwave in the room. The folks at the front desk did let us use the one in the breakfast area in the evening. Second would be a refrigerator that doesn't tip over when I open the door.The hotel needs to be updated, is the nicest way to put it. There were stains on the ceiling, the bed needed a new mattress, a light fixture was missing the screw holding it on the wall, and the a/c unit sounded like a generator when turned on. If you have small children stay away from the rooms at the end of the 1st floor halls, the doors get slammed closed by smokers late into the evening.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Great location and excellent stay here. Very comfortable beds and nice sized rooms. It has a smaller pool but the separate wading pool for smaller children is a nice feature. There is also a hot tub. I did have trouble with my room key working and was locked out of my room a couple times but staff was quick to give me a new key. Just more of an inconvenience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota City, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband and I and our German Shepherd dog recently stayed here on a Monday evening. The front desk gal was very professional, check out was a breeze, the room was very comfortable. My only complaint was, it would have been nice to have had a room closer to the outside so that I didn't have to walk our dog through the lobby to get outside. But the room itself was great. We will most likely be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I enjoyed my one night stay at the Holiday Inn Express in St. Cloud. I am a priority rewards member with Holiday Inn and the staff treated me that way. Upon my late check-in, I was given a bottle of water and cookies. My room was spotless and comforting. I was on the 4th floor, the room include a hair dryer and coffee maker. I had free wifi as well--worked great! They have a great hot breakfast in the morning, including cinnamon rolls (oh so good!). I would recommend anyone to stay at this hotel. It is right off the highway, very easy and conveinent to find!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express St. Cloud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express St. Cloud

Address: 4322 Clearwater Road, Saint Cloud, MN 56301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Cloud
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Saint Cloud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express St. Cloud 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... to the Holiday Inn Express-St. Cloud! As a Quality Excellence Award Winning hotel the Holiday Inn Express-St. Cloud offers services and amenities to accommodate every traveler. Be sure to take advantage of the free Continental Deluxe Breakfast Bar and 3 pools, which include a swimming pool, wading pool and whirlpool. The 24 hour fitness center and High Speed Internet ready business center are also an added bonus to your stay. All tastefully appointed guest rooms feature a refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, and two-line speakerphones with data ports. All guest rooms are equipped with High Speed Internet access. King, Jacuzzi, and Executive Suites feature Kitchenettes and are certain to provide for you and your family's needs. Extended stay suites featuring full kitchens are also available. Stay Smart. Stay at the Holiday Inn Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express St. Cloud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express St. Cloud Hotel Saint Cloud
Holiday Inn Saint Cloud
Saint Cloud Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express St. Cloud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.