We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good Best Western” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Kelly Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Kelly Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kelly Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Fourth Avenue South, Saint Cloud, MN 56301-1066   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Saint Cloud
Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not a good Best Western”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

The room was clean but very dated. Little things are not maintained for example Light bulbs were burned out. Desk staff not friendly or helpful. I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    63
    49
    26
    9
See reviews for
74
34
10
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

Part of a family reunion group at this hotel, July 30-Aug. 1. We can't say enough about the service and the staff's help in accommodating some of the group's needs and requests, both before and during the event. This applies to everyone, from the desk, to the restaurant/lounge and housekeeping. I don't know where you got these people but they are KEEPERS!
Thanks to all the staff at Kelly Best Western, St. Cloud, MN, for your part in making our get-together so enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new richmond, wi
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

This is the second time I have stay at Best Western Kelly Inn as a solo traveler. In all likelihood, I will probably stay someplace else next time. The location of the hotel is great, but thats about it.

I had a room with a queen size bed, desk, and recliner chair. The room is poorly laid out. The desk and chair are at the foot of the bed. With the chair there, could can not get around to the other side of the bed. To the right of the desk is the tv/closet unit. It would make more sense to move the tv/closet unit to the edge of the bed and put the desk on the right hand side of the unit. Or, move the recliner into the corner and put the desk in the corner by the bed. It was frustrating moving the chair all the time to move around in the room. I had a similiar room when there were two of us in the room, which made the lay out even worse.

The bathrooms are extremely small. The toilet is inches from the doorway into the bathroom, and the shower is inches from the toilet. The sink is to the right as you come inside the door. A better design would have been to move the bathroom wall out to include the sink as a part of the bathroom. Shower head worked very well.

Sleeping-wise, the bed was fine. Plenty of pillows.

I had a non-smoking room, and it seems the housekeeping staff loves their Febreeze! It was almost overpowering each time you entered the room. My room was on the bottom floor. The carpet felt damp. Don't know if the carpet is laid on bare cement, thus absorbing moisture into the carpet? If the carpets are damp, its no wonder they Febreeze the room excessively to mask a potential musty smell.

I did not use any of the pool area. Too many kids. Would love a hotel chain that just caters to the adult traveler. Hallways and common areas were noisy, as there were two wedding receptions going on.

There is a Green Mill restaurant attached to the hotel that entitles you to 10% off your purchase. They offer a morning breakfast buffet. I thought that would be a great choice at 9:20 on a Sunday morning. The restaurant was not busy at all; it was a seat-yourself. I seated myself and waited over 5 minutes for someone to at least acknowledge I was there. After over 5 minutes of waiting, and not a server in site, I got up and left.

Overall, I was not impressed with this hotel. I wasn't the first time, but thought I would give it a second try. I will probably stay elsewhere the next time, even if the hotel of choice is a few dollars more.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dkoble, Corporate Operations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kelly Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2010
On behalf of the hotel, we appreciate all of our guests input on their stays as it better allows us to exceed our guest's expectations.

Here at the Best Western Kelly Inn of St. Cloud, MN, we have many different room types that cater to all types of travelers. The guest room types range from your most economical room type, our Standard Queen room with one bed and rocking chair all the way up to our Executive Suite with a spacious layout including King size bed, pull-out sofa sleeper/living area and a six person conference table. We pride ourselves on being able to accommodate any range of guests needs from the simplest to the extravagant.

I would encourage this guest to inquire about other guest room opportunities, as I can say with confidence we would be able to accommodate his needs and exceed his expectations along with a great Best Western Kelly Inn rate!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

The Kelly Inn was in a nice area of town and from most appearances was a fine hotel. Looks nice, etc... But the devil is in the details they say. We just happened upon a few unlucky things that made the night we stayed there less relaxing than it should have been.

Now we are on a cross country journey with our children so we wanted a hotel with a pool to relax in after a long day. Well, the pool was there, but it wasn't operational. No mention of this on the internet, no e-mail to let us know even though "we tried to inform everyone". The room was nice though the sofa bed that we thoughtwould spread us out a bit was completely unusable.

The room itself was nice, decently modern, comfy bed, great view of the river, and the service was nice. When we complained upon checkout that we booked a hotel with a pool to relax after a long day of travel they did end up giving us a free nights stay (haven't received it yet, so don't know the details). When a survey was sent to us by e-mail a few days later I dutifully filled it out with my concerns and received an e-mail apology from the manager.

I think this was a nice hotel and I just happened to chance upon it at the wrong time with the wrong room. Decent place to go to.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dkoble, Corporate Operations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kelly Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2010
Over the Fourth of July week, our hotel was in the process of improving our pool area to include new drain systems ensuring guest safety and comfort. The week prior to arrival when the hotel was notified of the pool are being closed, the Front Desk staff and Management took initiative to inform all guests with pre-existing reservations and any forthcoming reservations of this particular closure. We do, of course, apologize for any inconveniences that the closure may have caused, but we are confident in the effortstaken by the hotel staff in making sure all of our guests were informed and properly notified. Our guest satisfaction and the ability to exceed your expectations are not taken lightly and we do hope you give our wonderful hotel and city another try on your way back from your travels. Enjoy the rest of your journey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

It's a dated Best Western, clean but old. They beds were uncomfortable but the staff was nice. It is attached to the convention center

Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KELLYINN24113, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kelly Inn, responded to this review, December 22, 2010
From all of us here at the Best Western Kelly Inn - St. Cloud, we thank you for your response. We here at the Best Western pride our hotel as being one of the staple centers of our town. We are a long standing hotel that has provided service to many travelers and conventioneers. This past year has brought many wonderful improvements to our hotel such as refrigerators in each guest room, new bedding ensembles as well as new queen mattresses. We appreciate your feedback and are taking it into deep consideration and hope to show you a newer, more refreshed Kelly Inn on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010 via mobile

This is a very average hotel. The location is nice as it's banked on the Mississippi River. We stayed here for a wedding at their conference center. The reception went well and this part of the hotel was nice.

The 1-Queen room was small but worked out well since we were there for a wedding versus a getaway. Pay close attention to room signs cause the hotel is in corridors.

The staff is not too enthusiastic. Everyone seemed to wear their uniform their own personal way. The hotel should offer express checkout as well.

The Green Mill restaurant is a good touch. Their dinner food is amazing! The Green Mill catered the wedding and it was a great chAnge from the Rubber ChickeN dinner. But do not waste your money on the Breakfast. This is one ofthe few BW hotels I have been to with no free breakfast. For the money you spend in relation to food, save your money and go to Perkins down the street.

Like I said, an average hotel but not a horrible place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KELLYINN24113, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kelly Inn, responded to this review, December 22, 2010
Thank you for your response. Here at the Best Western Kelly Inn of St. Cloud, MN we have many different room types that cater to all types of travelers. The guest room types range from your most economical room type, our standard Queen room with one bed and rocking chair up to our Executive Suite with a spacious layout, King size bed, pull our sofa sleeper/living area, along with a six person conference table. We pride ourselves on being able to accommodate any range of guest needs from the simplest to the extravagant. We value your comments so as to improve our service and expectation of future guest travelers. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, MN
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

We were in St. Cloud as exhibitors at a conference in the adjacent Civic Center. We had stayed at this property once a couple years ago and were very satisfied. However, after reading the recent reviews, we were concerned. But everything went well. The discounted rate was honored without a problem. The room (#564?) was clean, comfortable, quiet, and relatively large. The front desk staff was accommodating, allowing us to store our suitcases containing our exhibit material in their secure storage area.

Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Kelly Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Kelly Inn

Address: 100 Fourth Avenue South, Saint Cloud, MN 56301-1066
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Cloud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saint Cloud
#6 Family Hotel in Saint Cloud
#8 Business Hotel in Saint Cloud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Kelly Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 229
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Kelly Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Kelly Hotel Saint Cloud
Best Western Saint Cloud
Saint Cloud Best Western
Best Western Kelly Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Kelly Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.