We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Severe water damage” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Kelly Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Kelly Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kelly Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Fourth Avenue South, Saint Cloud, MN 56301-1066   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Saint Cloud
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Severe water damage”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many times in the past few years. It is not the Kelly Inn's fault that almost the entire area in Minnesota had severe rainfall and storms last week. We awoke on Sunday AM, June 23, to water dripping from the ceiling into both the bedroom and bathroom areas. Our room was on sixth floor (the top floor). There was standing water on the top of the coffee table. Luckily, our two laptops were on a table and just missed the leaking a few inches away. In the sixth floor hallway, there was severe damage. We went down to the lobby about 0700 to report that our room was damaged and had leaks all over and the reaction at the reception desk was " Everyone has the same problem." There were large buckets in the lobby. If you make reservations for a visit, make sure that you don't get a water soaked room, especially on the sixth floor.

Room Tip: Their wireless internet service is apparently less than adequate when there is a lot of activity. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KELLYINN24113, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kelly Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
From all of us here at the Best Western PLUS Kelly Inn, it is with many thanks to all of our wonderful guests who have been so understanding regarding the damages our city and hotel sustained during our week of torrential storms. It is so very unfortunate that you were also affected by our storms and I truly apologize that you woke up to the rain in your room as well. We appreciate all of your cooperation. We consider ourselves very fortunate at the hotel as we were one of the only businesses still left with power in the city following the storms. With our amazing Maintenance and Housekeeping staff who all pulled together to get our hotel back in working order we are happy to say that we are stronger than ever and are back up to our pre-disaster standards and welcome all travelers with open arms and bright smiles. Thank you again to all of those who helped us get through our difficulties and it is with warm hopes to have you all back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    63
    49
    26
    9
See reviews for
74
34
10
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
East Dubuque, Illinois, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This was a wedding trip-the bed was so uncomfortable and the blanket was scratchy. The room was tiny.
Not a pleasant experience and we would NOT recommend staying here or dining
at their restaurant-breakfast was hard and dry.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KELLYINN24113, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kelly Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We truly thank you for your review of our hotel. We here at the Best Western PLUS Kelly Inn are proud to offer many (18 in fact) different types of guest rooms to suit all our guests needs. We have guest rooms to accommodate your most economically driven traveler to luxury traveler. I apologize that you did not have the most comfortable stay but we would like to invite you back to give us another try. If your first experience was in a more economical room type and you are interested in larger rooms, our knowledgeable Front Desk Associates can provide you options with more space that you may have been originally looking for. With eighteen various room types we are sure to have one that will certainly suit your needs. Safe and happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We went to this hotel to pick up instructions for a volkswalk and ended up staying as we had passed only one other motel on our way across town. We had a very comfortable room with restaurants nearby but found the price to be above what we usually pay for a room that doesn't offer even a minimal breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KELLYINN24113, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kelly Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
I am thrilled to hear that your travels landed you here with us at the Best Western PLUS Kelly Inn, St. Cloud. I am pleased to hear that you also had a comfortable stay. We are fortunate to have the Green Mill Restaurant attached to our property which does in fact offer a discount breakfast which includes hot and cold items to all of our overnight guests. It is with sincere thanks for your review of our hotel and hope that you visit us again while passing through our beautiful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus Falls, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed at the Kelly Inn on a Thursday night with my mom and sister in a double queen room and was very happy with the experience. Jordan, I believe, at the front desk was friendly and helpful. The room was quite large for a decent price, and we appreciated all the extra mirrors for 3 ladies getting ready in the morning! The beds and pillows were very comfortable and the decor was modern. The free wifi worked without any problems, and the location is awesome. My only complaint was the breakfast. We tried out the buffet held in the Green Mill, and didn't feel that the price paid for the meal was worth it. It would have been great for a complimentary breakfast, but I'd recommend you try out another breakfast restaurant! Overall a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KELLYINN24113, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kelly Inn, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Many thanks for your review of the Best Western PLUS Kelly Inn – St. Cloud. We always appreciate knowing what we are doing well and also things that can be improved upon. I am thrilled that you experienced the quality service provided by our Front Desk Associate Jordan. I am proud to have a high caliber team at our Front Desk and it is with all expectation that each of our valued guests leave the hotel with confidence that they received the best experience and service while with us at the Best Western PLUS Kelly Inn, St. Cloud. We hope you visit us again if ever traveling through our beautiful city. Safe and happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed here this past weekend with my son's baseball team that was in town for a tournament and have to say it was not bad.

The staff that we encountered was friendly and helpful. The hotel was packed with at least two youth baseball teams, at least one college baseball team, a women's conference, a hockey coaches conference, probably a hockey team as well and wedding, but they seemed to handle all this without any issues.

The rooms and hallway were dark and kind of depressing, but the room was large enough for our family of 5 (including a pack & play) plus our dog. The beds and pillows were not very comfortable and the beds/headboards were very noisy. Any movement on the bed and the headboards would bang against the wall.

The pool area was very large and the kids enjoyed the pool very much. There's a large carpeted area where they were able to play football and allowed for the team to have a pizza party. The kiddie pool was perfect for the little ones.

Finding a parking spot was a bit difficult, especially with all the events going on at the hotel.

Overall, it's a good hotel if you're traveling with family/sports teams/group.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KELLYINN24113, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kelly Inn, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you so very much for your review of our hotel. I am happy to hear that you had an enjoyable time with us during your stay. We here at the Best Western PLUS Kelly Inn are happy to provide guest from all walks of life comfortable accommodations. Again, many thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

For those of you staying for an extended time in St. Cloud, instead of one of those extended stay places, try to Kelly Inn, St. Cloud. It is an outstanding property in the town center adjacent to the River Walk Convention Center. I have stayed there for three or four days a week this year while in town on business and I am treated like a King. The price is right for extended stays and the rooms are well appointed. There are many various types of rooms in various configurations that should match what you need. The staff is exceptionally friendly, especially Ron at the front desk and they all go beyond what one would expect. I travel a lot and the staff is the most accommodating and friendly as I have ever seen. I will continue to return.

Room Tip: the Tower is my favorite. Ask for a room that overlooks the Mississippi River. Beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KELLYINN24113, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kelly Inn, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
From all of us here we truly appreciate your review of our hotel and your continued patronage of the Best Western PLUS Kelly Inn – St. Cloud. This past year it has been a pleasure to have your familiar face around the hotel and you have become a part of our Best Western family! The St. Cloud Best Western PLUS Kelly Inn is truly the definition of hospitality at its finest. All of our team members truly strive to provide the best service in the industry. We are happy to have traveling guests who stay one night or our great extended stayers for any length of time. Not only do we provide competitive rates daily we provide leading competitive rates for various organizations and businesses alike. Again, Mr. Hennessy we look forward to having you here next season and wish you a beautiful and relaxing summer! Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Kelly Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Kelly Inn

Address: 100 Fourth Avenue South, Saint Cloud, MN 56301-1066
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Cloud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saint Cloud
#6 Family Hotel in Saint Cloud
#8 Business Hotel in Saint Cloud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Kelly Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 229
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Kelly Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Kelly Hotel Saint Cloud
Best Western Saint Cloud
Saint Cloud Best Western
Best Western Kelly Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Kelly Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.