We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the best ethnic restaurants outside The Cities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sawatdee Thai Food

Sawatdee Thai Food
800 West Saint Germain Street, Saint Cloud, MN
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 142 Restaurants in Saint Cloud
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Zweibruecken, Germany
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“one of the best ethnic restaurants outside The Cities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

It's difficult to find anything but "American" franchise restaurants in this sleepy bedroom community -- if you want a meal with lively flavors, and rather authentic, ethnic tradition, Sawatdee Thai restaurant is the place to go in Saint Cloud.

Sawatdee is part of a chain of 7 locations in Minnesota. This one is every bit as charming as all of the ones located in The Cities. If you're stranded at a hotel, or one of the local universities, they DELIVER!!

Everything is walkable in downtown St Cloud. This restaurant is close to everything, and has a pretty great choice of foods on their menu. Their Pad Thai is very good...we've encouraged them to challenge us on the spiciness; but they have yet to really turn up the dial.

Luckily, they're happy to bring you a dish or two of spice and sauces, to make your 4-star a jumpy hot 5-stars.

They're probably used to the local patrons whose tastebuds are fearful of anything that might make them sweat. The thing about Thai food is, it's easy to like almost anything they serve. You can get fried rice, which isn't too off from any other mainstream, typical Asian fried rice.

But go ahead and order something else from the menu. All the items are very well-prepared, and affordable. Or go to the Lunch Buffet and stretch yourself. There are several entrees to choose from, and you'll get a mix of flavors. Chase it all down with the Thai Iced tea, and it's like having dessert with your meal.

We soooo wish St Cloud offered more unique places to dine. For now, Sawatdee is TOP of our list for places to eat in the area!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    11
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I'd say this is one of your better food options in st Cloud, which has an amazingly low level of restaurants as a whole. It's nearly impossible to find good food that is not from a chain. If you're looking for interesting, original,or localvore cooking you are pretty much out of luck. So I end up here.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Delicious Thai food! Enough said.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This place has some of the best Thai food I've ever tasted. I love the Pad Thai so much that it's hard to bring myself to ever order anything else, but I've tried the tropical fried rice and tasted a few other things off my family's plates and it's all good. I highly recommend the Thai iced tea, a sweet and creamy drink that tastes a little funny when you first try it, but grows on you very quickly, and the mango sticky rice. The rice is warm and sweet and drizzled with coconut milk, and the mango is cool, fresh, and ripe. Both the tea and the sticky rice are great counterparts to the deliciously spicy Thai food. The environment is nice, if nothing to write home about, and the service is friendly. The only critique I have is that it seems like the spiciness of the food varies depending on who's cooking or taking your order. I usually order a three out of five, and sometimes it will be eye-wateringly hot, and other times it will taste like they left out the spice completely.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Thai it, ull like it!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

When I'm coming down with a cold I run for a spicy veg pad Thai.

I didn't like the Chai tea as it was a bit mocha flavored...?

Good spice to their meals and easy to find downtown!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good tasty food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The food was really tasty and the staff was friendly. The food was really good just not as good as my Thai back home. Order the duck!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sawatdee Thai Food also viewed

 

Been to Sawatdee Thai Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sawatdee Thai Food, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.