We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique” 4 of 5 stars
Review of White Horse

White Horse
809 W Saint Germain St, Saint Cloud, MN 56301-3536
320-257-7775
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 139 Restaurants in Saint Cloud
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Saint Cloud, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unique”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is an unusual scene in St Cloud. It's bustling with activity and they have a very unique menu with different types of foods to try. Everything I've eaten at the White Horse has been very good. Get tehre early because seating is limited.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    47
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere and Loved the Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I decided to have a late lunch on a Sunday afternoon at the White Horse. It was our first time there and we were pleasantly surprised. I wouldn't consider it high scale dining but I wasn't looking for it. Even though the food wasn't rushed out, we were okay with it as we were just looking to spend some time enjoying a beer and conversation. It was very comfortable with football on the TVs and a great lunch menu. My husband had the German Burger and I had the Thai Burger with a cup of Chicken Chili. Everything tasted great. We plan go back there to try their dinner menu, which I understand has unique options! I would spend a Sunday afternoon at the White Horse again!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendota, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Place in the Granite City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

A trip to the White Horse is always a fairly safe bet for quality food, unique menu choices and good atmosphere. This place is a bar but don't he fooled by the surrounding as the menu choices go well beyond the usual burgers and fried things. Plus, you can never go wrong with a place that has free popcorn and peanuts. Only complaint would be the cost of the beer at times, but don't let this deter your decision to visit since I am a cheapskate much of the time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This place in no way lives up to the hype. I will give it that most of the food on the menu is good but that's about it. The service is slow, the waitresses know nothing about the 6 or 7 craft beers that are on tap. The place is noisy. In the middle of our meal we were asked to move to a different table so that another party could have our table, that is extremely rude and unacceptable. These people don't have a clue what good restaurant service is supposed to be.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“What a surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Don't be turned away by the exterior or the atmosphere inside. Because what appears to be a run of the mill bar turns out to be a gem of a restaurant in Saint Cloud, MN. Every foodie in small town America wishes that they had a small eatery like this that appreciates fresh ingredients and a diverse menu featuring everything from a garlic steak to Indian, Mexican and Vietnamese cuisine. The staff is very friendly and really embodies the "Minnesota nice" behavior that you may or may not have heard of. I only spent 4 night in Saint Cloud and tried 3 restaurants in that time (twice dining at White Horse) so I would have a hard time saying its the best in town, but based on what I observed i. Town I would find it hard to believe there are any better.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Horse also viewed

 

Been to White Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Horse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.