We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hohum” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Granite City Food & Brewery

Granite City Food & Brewery
3945 2nd Street South, Saint Cloud, MN 56301
(320) 203-9000
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 142 Restaurants in Saint Cloud
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Dessert, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: phone 3202039000
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hohum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

If you like Applebee's, Olive Garden - those sorts of chain restaurants, you'll like this place. If you want fresh, well prepared food - skip these guys. Beers were good, service fine, atmosphere average.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    47
    20
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Head across the street to the Boulder Tap House instead!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We got seated at a high top right away. Our server was nice and brought us our drinks. We ordered dinner and my husband ordered soup and bread to start. After awhile our waitress came and said the soup would be awhile because they had to make a fresh batch. Would have been good, right? Wrong!

Soup came out but she said the bread wasn't ready. We took one bite each and it was cold. Brand new soup and it was ice cold! It took about seven minutes before she came back and when my husband told her it was cold (and still no bread) she got defensive immediately and told us the chef had put it up in the window for her to serve. Really? No apology? Did we want another? It wasn't her fault she said. My husband had to ask to see the manager. Before she came over our dinners arrived! Ha! We told that server to take it back and we were waiting for the manager.

When the manager came over and we told her what her server had told us, she did apologize and offered to get us something else. And then guess what arrives? The new soup and bread! We said we were done and the manager offered to go get our check. My husband said it was on them (we had one drink each) and she agreed and we walked out.

Since we were staying across the street and had walked over we looked and saw the Boulder Tap House across the street. They serve all kinds of beer, wings, and burgers. While its a little different type of restaurant we highly recommend it instead. You won't be disappointed!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Safe choice for food, service and local brews”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Had a dinner and lunch on a recent stay in St. Cloud and can recommend Granite City for quality and consistency, plus a friendly and competent wait staff. Had a good steak dinner one night (accompanied by a nice 25 ounce beer) and a tasty sandwich the next day. You wouldn't go here for chic fare, but just decent food well prepared and served.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“second time guests”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

It's a must eat place when we go see our daughter. Food and service ar great- the decor is inviting also.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were in the area for one night on a road trip and this was close to our hotel and since we had been to a Granite City facility in another state a few years ago, we knew it would be good. We sat at the bar and had good microbrew beers and a good dinner. The bartender who took care of us had a good personality and was most helpful. I wouldn't hesitate to go there again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Granite City Food & Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Granite City Food & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Granite City Food & Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.