We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, friendly. We'll be back.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of North Country Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added North Country Inn & Suites to your Saves list
North Country Inn & Suites
902 3rd St NW, Roseau, MN 56751 (Formerly Days Inn Roseau)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Roseau
Central Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, friendly. We'll be back.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

There isn't much to choose from in Roseau so thought I'd better give my reviews of the two places we stayed. North Country Inn is a great place to stay. Reasonable prices, everything you need, and very friendly. My only criticism is that there was no skirt on the box springs on the mattress. Not sure if that was just our room or if that was the usual, but that doesn't make me feel like it is the best situation. Other than that, everything was just fine. Friendly reception at check-in, room was a little dark with a dark paint on the walls, wi-fi was free,flat screen TV in room, in-door pool and hot tub was in use often, free breakfast was the usual cereal, waffles, toast, ect that you find in 2* hotels. Free local papers. No issues with smoke smells. Common area in the lobby was in use more often than I am used to with people visiting and watching a flat screen TV. Washer, dryer and laundry powder are available and work great. Location is convenient to everything with two grocery stores down the street and restaurants not far. We were there during the County Fair and it was busy, but they got us in pretty last minute and were helpful about it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    6
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
7
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

I have stayed at the North Country Inn on two occasions. Both stays were a great experience. The rooms were very nice and clean with a wide screen flat LCD TV and great WIFI reception. The staff is very pleasant and their breakfast is great as well. I'll stay here every time I visit Roseau!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

The North Country Inn is excellent value for money.

I have traveled around the U.S. and overseas and have learned to deal with many "not up to reasonable expectations places to stay" and so was very pleasantly surprised by the North Country Inn.

The staff was pleasantly helpful and the room was quite excellent. And, the location is conveniently located as well.

I highly recommend the North Country Inn.

Devin Hastings
President, MN Institute of Advanced Communication Skills

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

We stayed there for a wedding so the hotel was packed. We couldn't really hear hallway noise and the room was really big, surprisingly big for 2 queen sized beds. The breakfast was good and sometimes they had cookies in the afternoon. There was coffee and juice available during the day. We had a fridge in our room and accidentally forgot a full flask in there when we left. On the road back home, we realized that and called the hotel. The lady went back to the room and checked the fridge and it was there. She cleaned it out and mailed it the next day back to our house. She was super nice about it!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

We stayed at the North Country Inn on our way home from a Minnesota roadtrip. We partially based our choice of accommodation in Roseau on the other reviews on this website. However, although the hotel was OK, it definitely didn't live up to a rating of five points as given by a number of the other reviewers.

For us, things didn't start off well. The room had a bit of a musty smell...almost as if it had recently had some smokers in it (despite it being a non-smoking room). It wasn't an overpowering smell...just enough to notice. Then we saw that our "swing bar" door lock was falling off the wall/door frame. Not only was the lock missing two of three screws but the one remaining screw was extremely loose. I went to the front desk to get a screw driver, which the clerk provided me...(as opposed to calling a maintenance person to come fix the lock). In her defense, it appeared that she was working alone that evening...half the town was at the county fair just down the road.

Overall, the North Country Inn is showing some signs of age and a lack of a vigorous maintenance program...gashes & marks on walls, furniture, porcelain...numerous weeds sprouting throughout the parking lot, etc. (However, the hotel is more visually appealing from the outside than the Roseau Motel & Diner next door).

Despite the above, we don't mean to make this review too much of a downer. There are definitely some positives to the place. They are:

1. Despite the signs of aging, the hotel is clean. Sheets, towels, etc were all top-notch.
2. The continental breakfast was better than we would've expected. Eggs, yogourt and fruit salad made it more than just a carb-heavy affair.
3. The bed was comfy.
4. The price was right...a good value.

We can't comment on the pool (because we didn't use it) other than to say that it isn't overly large. However, the kids we saw using it were having fun.

A great hotel? No....just a decent one-night's sleep on the way home.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bayou18
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2009

My mother and I stayed here for two nights in March 2009. We had a ground floor room with two queen size beds. The room was large with plenty of windows and a large bathroom. The bed linens were worn but clean. This hotel was not bad at all for such a small town. Mom and I slept very well there, no complaints. And the employees were very polite and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thief River Falls, MN
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2008

The North Country Inn was a delightful experience. I've tried all the hotels in Roseau, MN and this property is by far the best! The room was lovely and the service was amazing. Every aspect of the hotel was clean and well-maintained. The owners are on-site and gracious, making each gueast feel special. My grandson loved the pool, the temperature and cleanliness were great. I will never stay anywhere else when I am In Roseau. I give North Country Inn and Suites two thumbs up, way up!

  • Liked — The cleanliness and updated features
  • Disliked — Nothing, it was perfect!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to North Country Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Country Inn & Suites

Address: 902 3rd St NW, Roseau, MN 56751 (Formerly Days Inn Roseau)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Roseau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Roseau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your North Country Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Country Hotel Roseau
Country Inn Roseau
Roseau Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Country Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.