We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place for Families & Mayo Clinic Patients” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Rochester

Save Saved
You added TownePlace Suites Rochester to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
TownePlace Suites Rochester
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2829 43rd Street NW, Rochester, MN 55901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #9 of 53 hotels in Rochester
Southeast Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Great Place for Families & Mayo Clinic Patients”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We recently traveled to Rochester for a series of appointments at the Mayo Clinic. Others' reviews about the toddler-friendly pool at the Towne Place Suites drew our attention, and we were very happy that we chose to stay here. Our two-year old LOVED the kiddie pool area, which was clean and not over-treated with pool chemicals.

The two-bedroom suite was spacious and accommodating, providing enough room for us to gather as a family while also allowing enough space for us and my parents, who traveled with us, to have some privacy. The in-room kitchen facilities were nice, though the table space was not large enough for a party of 5 to enjoy a "home-cooked" meal together. Small inconvenience, though.

Hot breakfast was very nice, and well supplied.

Shuttle to the Mayo Clinic was extremely convenient, and always on-time.

We considered paying twice as much to stay closer to the Clinic, but in the end, were very happy with our decision to stay off-campus. Should we return to the Rochester area, we will not hesitate to book rooms here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    29
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
43
8
8
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We came here for an in-state stay cation, and the pool was our first reason for choosing this place! The zero-depth pool was awesome for our kids! The rooms are spacious and modern, with the suite providing ample space to keep us feeling like we had a bit of privacy from the kids. The kitchen was a nice bonus!! We will stay here again!

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

For an extended stay, this is a great place for a lot of reasons. Mayo patients and families get a full kitchen, including an oven (in all but the studios). That helps manage costs as well as diets that can be tricky. The full size refrigerator is also a great addition.

Rooms are nicely sized. We had a one bedroom suite, and our daughter took a studio. Beds were very comfortable. Good closet space.

A few things we didn't like: in the one bedroom suite, the bathroom is off the bedroom, so if you have someone using the sofabed, or even guests over, that can be difficult if someone is napping. Also, the seating was limited--just a loveseat-sized sofa, which is too crowded for three people. These rooms desperately need a comfortable chair, preferably a recliner.

there is a big desk, and a pull out sort of table, but no dining table. Again awkward, so you really wind up balancing plates on your lap. They did bring us two meeting room chairs, so at least we had a place in the bedroom to sit and put on shoes and socks. We also used it in the living room as an ottoman, using the wheeled desk chair as our lounge chair--not ideal, but better than sitting on the floor.

That being said, overall, this is worth it, and isn't too bad in a one bedroom suite for just two people.

The breakfast is fine, and the lobby is very nice, with a fireplace.

The pool here is really one of the biggest indoors, and if you have kids, it's a blast. Both the kiddie pool and the adult pool have waterslides, and the kiddie pool also has a fountain. The hot tub is pretty warm--we like it a tad warmer, but it will do.

The pool is a double-edged sword so to speak--the first weekend we were there, there were 12 childrens' birthday pool parties. The hotel was packed with families and lots of children, and the pool area was so noisy it was definitely not a place to relax until late at night. Some parents could be better at controlling children in the hallways, but thankfully they were young enough the noise was only during the daytime.

The Mayo Shuttle offers Mon-Friday trips to the clinic and hospitals. While the location is close to some shopping and restaurants, it's not an easy walk if you are carrying bags or it's cold. And, the wind chill is usually a factor in the winter. It was quite cold during our stay.

We rented a car, though, and parking is free. There's a Costco and movie theater close by, and it's not a long drive to Mayo. Mayo offers a reasonably priced parking pass. The shuttle is fine if you're relatively healthy, although it's a long and sometimes bumpy ride. A post-surgical patient may find it uncomfortable, depending on the surgery.

Overall, when we stay at a TownePlace, we know we're not getting luxury, but that's not what we needed for this visit. We've used the brand for some vacation stays, and again, it's what you expect and want from a property. Space and relative comfort, as well as kitchen facilities are important for us, and this helped.

I know we'll stay there again, hopefully in warmer weather.

Room Tip: Rear view is prettier, but not a noisy street. Not too much parking lot noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We chose this location as it was a lower priced Marriott alternative close to the St Mary's Hospital. We were there for 3 weeks. The property itself is clean, of course it was buried under snow the entire frigid stay. The one bedroom was adequate for 3 people. The bathroom was maintained well. There is a very nice pool and spa available and it seems an outdoor deck if the snow ever melts. Beyond this, there are loads of questions.

While the hotel offers daily breakfast beyond the norm for TownePlace, it could get quite gross. The breakfast room, especially on weekends, was rately re-supplied after an initial run through and at times postively filthy. The hot line never seemed to be wiped down and for some morning tables had to be self-bussed. While appreciated, i'm certain there are items of similar cost as the pre-cracked eggs and frozen potatoes.

Housekeeping was spotty. They claim to refresh rooms completely every 4 days. We could never verify it would happen. There was various levels of replenishment of supplies in the kitchen and there never seemed to be rhyme or reason as to who (they or us) would do the heavier cleaning.

While the staff was nice -- you would think after a week they would be a bit engaging and remember names or greet you as you came through the front door. Each time we were at the desk for a question, inevitably, the question was "What's your room number or name?"...The major exception to this was Stephanie who was outstanding from before the stay with helping with questions and room assignments to fixing issues during the stay.

A big annoyance is only two night stands with drawers in which to put clothes. For 3 weeks and 2 people the entire time -- it would have been nice to unpack. Instead space was taken by the suitcases.

This is really a 2.5. But they did fix anything when it was asked, the place had heat and food and is in very convenient location IF you have a car. The shuttle will not run anywhere but the hospitals -- so if you need to get to Target across the street to restock your shelves (they WILL do it for you), or a burger from Five Guys a cab or car is necessary. YOu could walk with the risk of frostbite.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed here on a business/family trip. We chose this hotel because of the larger pool and kiddie pool with waterslides. It was a little pricier than we normally go with but I have to say it was well worth it! Ok so the room was huge! We stayed in the 2 bedroom suite and it was clean and comfortable. The kitchen was wonderful to have and they had snacks and things in the lobby you could buy. The kitchen had dishes and silverwear and glasses. Everything you could need. AND the coffee pot was a 8 cup pot!! Not one of those little 2 - 4 cup coffee makers. It also had two bathrooms which was wonderful since we have 4 kids. Maid service did a great job. And the shampoos and conditioner were Paul Mitchel. The pool area was clean and great. The zero depth entrance kiddie pool was great for my little one who had a great time. The waterslides were an added bonus. The only downfall of the pools was that the hot tub wasn't really that hot....but really can't complain when everything else was great. We had breakfast right away in the morning and they had a huge selection. The eggs, hashbrowns, & sausages were only warm but the waffles were really good. But again there was a lot of selection so even though we didn't like the eggs, hashbrowns, & sausages, the other things were an excellent choice. All the staff was friendly and helpful. I would deffinately like to stay again when we go back next year.

Room Tip: If you have a large family the two bedroom suites are great!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

My son & I stayed in a King suite this visit. In the past my family of 4 has stayed in a King studio. I was expecting a bigger room compared to the studio...not so. Studio has more seating than the suite...2 chairs & 1 loveseat compared to just 1 loveseat in the suite. Luckily it was only the 2 of us or it would have been very crowded. 2 tvs in room. Fridge/freezer was immaculate.
Bathroom sink & toilet were dirty upon check in. I cleaned them myself as my son couldn't wait for the call to housekeeping. I let the front desk know as we were leaving for dinner regarding dirty room & received no response or apology. Loveseat was worn & seemed dirty. Heating units were very noisy.
Breakfast was disappointing. We went right away & "hot" items weren't even warm. Waffles were good.
The pool area seemed clean enough but a little chilly. Kid pool was fun but looked like it could use a cleaning.
Always, always check your windows upon check in. Every time we stay here at least one window is unlocked.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Island, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

It was a great night to have all our kids and their families together.
It was great to have a full kitchen available to us during our stay.
The Pool was great for the whole family, the grand kids had a blast.
Thanks for a great experience

Room Tip: Our family had the one bedroom suites and the two bedroom suites, both very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to TownePlace Suites Rochester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Rochester

Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Rochester Hotel Rochester
Towneplace Suites Rochester Hotel
Rochester Towneplace Suites
Address: 2829 43rd Street NW, Rochester, MN 55901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Rochester
#11 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Rochester 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your TownePlace Suites Rochester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites Rochester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.