We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room - could use some noise reduction” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Rochester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added TownePlace Suites Rochester to your Saves list
TownePlace Suites Rochester
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2829 43rd Street NW, Rochester, MN 55901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #19 of 58 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great room - could use some noise reduction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We went to Rochester for a girls weekend and I reserved a two bedroom suite. The room was wonderful but...there was a basketball tournament in town and the hotel was packed with young kids and their inattentive parents.

Having so many children in the hotel meant that we were unable to use the pool/hot tub area as we originally planned. Instead we went into downtown Rochester which was conveniently only about 10 minutes away.

The other downside of all of the basketball families was that it was noisy. While the room itself was wonderful, it could use more soundproofing. We were on the second floor and heard everything from the hallway and upstairs.

Again, because of the children on-site, breakfast in the morning was less than relaxing. The fare that was offered was very nice though. There were both hot and cold foods available - eggs, sausage, potatoes, waffles, breads and bagles to toast, cold cereal, pastries, yogurt, some fresh fruit, and milk, coffee, tea, and juices to drink. A very nice spread.

I know this sounds like I didn't enjoy this property but I did. The staff was wonderful. The location was wonderful. The room was wonderful. Our timing wasn't as wonderful.

I would definitely come back to this property if I need to stay in Rochester again.

Room Tip: Due to the thin walls, I would check for a quiet time and/or book on the 3rd floor. The two bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    45
    13
    2
    3
See reviews for
68
11
9
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, WI
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times over the past four years but this visit was just so-so. Appears to me that an update is needed as our bed was lumpy and the pillows were beyond soft. I actually went to Macys and bought a pillow so I could sleep! The amenities and room size are great. Service was good. Breakfast was tasty. It appears to me that the furnishings are looking very tired from use over the years. And, that cost saving measures must have brought in cheap tissues and toilet paper!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

In town for daughters DR. appointment. This is a very nice place to stay. With The Mayo patient package we got a room with a full kitchen for $105. There is also a very nice full breakfast buffet and a pretty nice waterpark. It's our new "go to" place when in Roch.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
125 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 744 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed here for a week while my husband had appointments at the Mayo clinic. It was about a 15 minute drive from the hotel to one of the downtown parking garages - even in morning or evening rush hour.

If you get the Mayo rate, you also get a $10 voucher to use at the hotel pantry for soda and snacks.

The hotel was a wonderful respite after spending long days dealing with medical issues. Our room was like a one bedroom apartment with a full kitchen, dining area, office area and separate bedroom.

Breakfast was nice with eggs, bacon, waffles, fresh fruit, yogurt plus the usual high carb treats of donuts and muffins.

Guests were a nice mix of families, business travelers and Mayo patients. I preferred this much more than the high concentration of patients which you find at hotels closer to the clinic.
I consider us part of the group and it's just nice to forget troubles for a while.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

My family and I stayed in this hotel for a few nights while visiting Rochester. We typically stay at another Marriott property downtown, but decided on this one because we thought our kiddo would like the pool. And boy did she! There is a zero-entry kids pool, with a little toddler-sized water slide and water feature. She thought that was THE coolest thing she had ever seen. There is also an adult pool and a hot tub, and all three pools are rather sizable.

Having stayed downtown any other time we visited Rochester, I was a little hesitant to stay so far north. However, it is a quick 5 minute drive, and really, on the weekend, it wasn't hard to find parking places for any of the restaurants and shops we wanted to visit.

The staff are all very nice, helpful, and welcoming (and interact well with kids, which isn't always the case). The only drawback is that floors and walls are very thin. I am not at all sensitive to noise, so it wasn't a huge issue for me, but if you're a light sleeper, ask for a room at the back of the property on the top floor. You might be a little more sheltered, then!

Room Tip: Get a room on the west or north end, and 4rd floor, if you need quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, ND
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and our 2 1/2 year old September 30-Oct 4.
Pros:
Rooms with 1 or 2 separate bedrooms. This was important to us so that our daughter could sleep in her pack and play in the living room at night or nap in the bedroom during the day and we could still be awake in the other room. The kitchen was great to have so we could keep leftovers or

Free hot breakfast. A good selection in a clean dining area with child seats available. There is an outdoor patio to eat on in nice weather.

Easy access to lots of dining options and a Super Target if you need anything.

Close to Hwy 52 and easy on and off for getting downtown. We left about a half an hour ahead of our Mayo appointments so we could get parked, walk to the building and make our way to the floor we needed without cutting it too close.

Shallow kid pool with a sprinkler and a small slide. After a long drive in the car it was great fun for our daughter and burned off some energy. The hot tub was great for mom and dad too. :)

Friendly front desk staff that was responsive when we called with questions.

The price of this room was half of what the 1 bedroom at Residence Inn downtown was and along with the Mayo patient rate (be sure to click on the packages tab if you get your room on their website) you also got a free shuttle bus to St. Mary's and Mayo and a $10 credit at their snack shop.

Cons:
Not downtown, so you will have to add in extra time to drive, park and walk.

The two rooms we stayed in could have been cleaned and maintenanced a little better. Nothing big, just socks under the couch, some crayons that weren't picked up and some wall cracks. Though I'm betting if we would have said something, they would have done their best to fix it or give us another room.

The breakfast bar could use a little more wiggle room to get around other people who are trying to toast things and dish up cereal. (I'm really digging for cons here, can you tell?)

While staying downtown would be convenient, we will be staying here again since the extra cost just doesn't outweigh the drive for us.

Room Tip: The top floors at the ends were a hike, but quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dulles, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at TownePlace Suites for 12 nights for Mayo appointments and thought it was a great place to stay. The service could not have been better. Lisa the manager and Jenn the operations manager as well as the rest of the desk staff, always went out of their way to accommodate any request we had. I have rarely come across a hotel where every staff person encountered was this nice. We had a two BR suite with a gas fireplace that was much larger than the rooms at most suite hotels. The room was clean and the hotel in general was very well kept. There was even a full sized refrigerator. The breakfast buffet was more than adequate and offered a great selection. In another posting someone had complained about thin walls and the hotel being noisy. That was not our experience and we stayed over a weekend when many families were at the hotel. The hotel is located a bit out from the center of Rochester and Mayo but it takes less than 10 minutes to drive to the clinic. The hotel is close to a large mall with a Super Target and restaurants. This is the first Trip Advisor review I have written but thought so highly of this hotel that I wanted to give the staff the praise they deserve.

Room Tip: We had a room on the front of the building facing the access road and heard no traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
7.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North
3.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Rochester - Saint Mary's & Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Aspen Suites Rochester
Aspen Suites Rochester
#10 of 58 in Rochester
4.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester
3.0 mi away
GuestHouse International Inn & Suites Rochester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Rochester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Rochester

Address: 2829 43rd Street NW, Rochester, MN 55901
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Rochester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your TownePlace Suites Rochester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Rochester Hotel Rochester
Rochester Towneplace Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites Rochester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.