We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value without the frills” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area to your Saves list
Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1850 South Broadway, Rochester, MN 55904   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 58 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Vernon Hills, IL
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good value without the frills”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for a place to stay on a limited budget, this place is for you. Clean rooms, free breakfast (waffles, donuts, hard boiled eggs and cereal) and friendly staff. No pool or workout facility but close to everything.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael J, Owner at Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Mike, thank you for your response. I would like to you and readers know that fitness room is near completion and hope to have it up and running by the end of October 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    40
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
42
39
12
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We needed a place to spend a Friday night in Rochester and could only fined one motel with good reviews in our price range. They are in the middle of some major renovations that sound like nice upgrades to an otherwise old building. Our room was on the first floor and proved very easy to get in and out of. When we checked in we were greeted by a very pleasant young made that was equally helpful (something I can say for all the staff members we encountered). When it came to our room it was clean, well supplied, but small and dark. The bed was advertised as a queen, but appeared to be something smaller. Some earlier reviews indicated that the pillows were less than good, though I found ours to be just fine (this really an individual taste). Someone on the housekeeping staff provided us with a fun towel and wash cloth elephant in the bathroom which was a little bit of a treat. When it can to breakfast we were very displeased. First the reviews of breakfast had all been very positive about its quality. Well we did not think it was at all! Considering we were in the home of the Mayo Clinic (a place you go to regain your health) this was not what we would call healthy food - doughnuts, white bread, waffles with lots of syrup and butter. We typically look for hot cereals with fruits and other things to make the bland exciting. We were totally out of luck and disappointed. Bottom line, the Econo Lodge did meet our basic needs and was affordable. If we stay here again, we will know what we a getting and that would make it a little nicer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael J, Owner at Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Jeff, thank you for your response. We use them to improve our service. I would like to answer some the the issues you brought up. When looking up your stay I found that you were in one of our smaller economical rooms. They are 30% smaller than our regular rooms. They all have Queen size beds. Since we have now completed our new addition with the new elevator, fitness room, and Business center, We will focus on the breakfast room room and food choices. As you suggest, we will be adding some healthier choices sometime in 2014. Thank you, Mike Jacobson Owner/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onawa, Ia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I had an appointment at Mayo Clinic and we spent three days there. The room we had was to the back of the hotel and was so nice and quiet. It was very clean and queen size beds very comfortable. The bathroom vanity was very small but we made due. They were in the process of putting in an elevator so construction was going on but that didn't bother us at all. The help at the desk went out of their way to make us comfortable. Very nice breakfast bar and always had plenty of food available. I just can't say enough nice things about this motel. So reasonably priced for all you get. I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the back of the Hotel as they are away from the highway traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael J, Owner at Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
MsJH, thank you for your nice comments. We appreciate them very much. I am glad to be able to tell you that the construction on the new addition is over. It was a long process that went longer than we anticipated. Thank you, Mike Jacobson GM/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed here over a weekend while in town for a wedding. I had made an error in creating my reservation online and when we arrived found we did not have one at this hotel. The desk agent (I think her name may have been Debra) called around to every choice hotel in the city to make sure I had not made it somewhere else by mistake. She was extremely patient and went out of her way to help us and we appreciated it very much! The hotel was under construction but was still very clean and had full access to parking lot, et c. The breakfast area is very basic and has limited options, but was enough for us and best of all- its free! The rooms are mid sized and very clean, but my biggest impression was made by all of the kind staff members. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sand Springs Ok
Level Contributor
64 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is our third stay at this particular Econo Lodge, so I guess we think it is OK. This last time, we had a handicapped access room, since the wife has trouble getting around. The shower is a walk in shower instead of in a tub and there is also a high rise toilet with the hand grab bars. I don't know if a wheel chair would have fit in the shower, but it did have a seat installed to sit on if needed. The room itself was good and close to the front desk. The breakfast area is large enough that we never had a problem during our three day stay to find seating and the food was about average. Internet access was strictly wireless and worked well. If you eat at the Perkins next door, you can use your room key for 10% off your bill.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

After traveling 11 hours from Michigan heading west, we took the exit this hotel was one. On way to hotel 8 miles from exit my mom called her choice membership to book the room. We got here and the staff came to help us carry our bags in! The hotel smelled like bleach! Our room was SPOTLESS NOT ONE SINGLE HAIR! I FREAK OUT ABOUT THAT! This place is clean; quiet, affordable! Flat screen tv mounted on wall, fridge,microwave newly renovated. Decorated tastefully. We travel a lot and are very leery of sleeping arrangements_ most the time I would rather sleep in car! In room coffee was even decent! Raiforest alliance! Anyhow...do not hesitate to stay here! They are putting in an elevator to make it more accessible. Have not been to continental breakfast but I am sure it is good.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I booked the hotel through Expedia, which cost me about $20 more if I contact the hotel directly. Even with more expensive rate, we were given the smallest room by Expedia. We found about all these after we checked in. The hotel staff upgraded us free to a king size bed, which made us happier. The outside of the hotel was under remodeling, not very impressed. The inside of room is clean and quiet. Continental breakfast was provided, not fancy at all.

Room Tip: contact the hotel directly by search on google and find direct number. The number listed on TripAdvi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael J, Owner at Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Janet,
Thank you for taking time to comment on your stay. We were glad to be able to upgrade your room to a King room. This is not always possible. Many people booking on 3rd party websites like Expedia book the lowest priced room. In the print the room is labeled as "small room". For people reading this make sure you book a room not labeled as "Small". The front of our hotel is undergoing renovation and should be completed by July 1, 2013. If it ever quits raining.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you will stay with us again the next time you visit Rochester

Mike & Lynette Jacobson
Owners/GM
Rochester Econolodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
2.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester
5.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#15 of 58 in Rochester
4.5 of 5 stars 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Rochester - Saint Mary's & Mayo Clinic Area
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Rochester
Hampton Inn Rochester
#5 of 58 in Rochester
4.5 of 5 stars 418 reviews
2.6 mi away
GuestHouse International Inn & Suites Rochester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area

Address: 1850 South Broadway, Rochester, MN 55904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Rochester
#5 Family Hotel in Rochester
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#10 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 2014 "Hotel of the Year" by Choice Hotels International is a family owned and operated hotel. At the Lodge, we believe in going above and beyond the standard which is why we offer a Deluxe Continental Breakfast that includes fresh fruit, yogurt, Belgian waffles, hot and cold cereals, and so much more. The Lodge provides door-to-door service with a complimentary shuttle to the Mayo Clinic and St. Mary's Hospital during normal clinic hours. We understand our guests desire in-room conveniences which is why we have equipped each room with a microwave, refrigerator, coffeemaker, and hair dryer. Be sure to take advantage of our many on-site amenities including our 24-hour Fitness Room, Business Center, and free Wi-Fi. Dining out is easy with several nearby restaurants - many of which offer discounts to Econo Lodge guests. Whether you are coming to Rochester to visit the world renowned Mayo Clinic, for a local sporting event, or a family reunion, the Lodge will provide you with outstanding accommodations in a central Rochester location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Rochester
Rochester Econo Lodge
Econolodge Hotel Rochester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.