We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our third stay here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area to your Saves list
Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1850 South Broadway, Rochester, MN 55904   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 57 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Sand Springs Ok
Level Contributor
68 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Our third stay here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is our third stay at this particular Econo Lodge, so I guess we think it is OK. This last time, we had a handicapped access room, since the wife has trouble getting around. The shower is a walk in shower instead of in a tub and there is also a high rise toilet with the hand grab bars. I don't know if a wheel chair would have fit in the shower, but it did have a seat installed to sit on if needed. The room itself was good and close to the front desk. The breakfast area is large enough that we never had a problem during our three day stay to find seating and the food was about average. Internet access was strictly wireless and worked well. If you eat at the Perkins next door, you can use your room key for 10% off your bill.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

After traveling 11 hours from Michigan heading west, we took the exit this hotel was one. On way to hotel 8 miles from exit my mom called her choice membership to book the room. We got here and the staff came to help us carry our bags in! The hotel smelled like bleach! Our room was SPOTLESS NOT ONE SINGLE HAIR! I FREAK OUT ABOUT THAT! This place is clean; quiet, affordable! Flat screen tv mounted on wall, fridge,microwave newly renovated. Decorated tastefully. We travel a lot and are very leery of sleeping arrangements_ most the time I would rather sleep in car! In room coffee was even decent! Raiforest alliance! Anyhow...do not hesitate to stay here! They are putting in an elevator to make it more accessible. Have not been to continental breakfast but I am sure it is good.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TLRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I booked the hotel through Expedia, which cost me about $20 more if I contact the hotel directly. Even with more expensive rate, we were given the smallest room by Expedia. We found about all these after we checked in. The hotel staff upgraded us free to a king size bed, which made us happier. The outside of the hotel was under remodeling, not very impressed. The inside of room is clean and quiet. Continental breakfast was provided, not fancy at all.

Room Tip: contact the hotel directly by search on google and find direct number. The number listed on TripAdvi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael J, Owner at Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Janet,
Thank you for taking time to comment on your stay. We were glad to be able to upgrade your room to a King room. This is not always possible. Many people booking on 3rd party websites like Expedia book the lowest priced room. In the print the room is labeled as "small room". For people reading this make sure you book a room not labeled as "Small". The front of our hotel is undergoing renovation and should be completed by July 1, 2013. If it ever quits raining.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you will stay with us again the next time you visit Rochester

Mike & Lynette Jacobson
Owners/GM
Rochester Econolodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

My Husband and I recently stayed at the Econo Lodge in Rochester, MN, We stayed 2 nights in order to attend the Gold Rush Antique Flea Market which was just down the road. It was a great stay, the rooms were clean, very quite and comfortable, I had requested a recliner since my husband has a bad back and this seemed not to be a problem for them and they did accomedate us, unlike many other motels which don't have recliners available. The staff was excellent, very friendly and helpful, the Perkins located right next door was great. The Breakfast in the morning was very good, Rates were very affordable. They were undergoing some renovation but you would have never known it, even the construction workers were very nice and accomedating. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We spent two nights at this hotel and found the room to be very clean and updated. It was also very quiet. The staff was friendly, and the morning breakfast offerings were great. The location was really convenient, nice to have the Perkins restaurant right next door. The hotel was in the middle of some renovations while we were there, but it did not negatively affect our stay. We had requested a 2nd floor room and our request was fulfilled. We would definitely stay here again. Great room rates too, especially after signing up for the Choice Privileges membership program (which was free).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, North Dakota
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was a nice place to stay. It was quiet and clean. The breakfast room was very good and continually stocked as people came and went. The staff were very helpful with any problems of which we had none.
We were there on a trip for Mayo Clinic and the shuttle was a great way to get to the clinic and back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dakota38_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebring
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed here 2 weeks. Special weekly Mayo rate available. Rooms clean,frig,microwave,coffee. Just a good basic hotel with quiet rooms. Upgrade adding elevator underway so for now you must climb stairs for 2nd floor. Very basic free breakfast. Grocery store,Perkins, Outback, etc. all within walking or short drive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
5.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester
2.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester
2.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#18 of 57 in Rochester
4.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Rochester
Hampton Inn Rochester
#7 of 57 in Rochester
4.5 of 5 stars 459 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Rochester
Comfort Suites Rochester
#11 of 57 in Rochester
4.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area

Address: 1850 South Broadway, Rochester, MN 55904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rochester
#7 Family Hotel in Rochester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#11 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The eight consecutive year Platinum Award Winning hotel by Choice Hotels International is family owned and operated. At the Lodge, we believe in going above and beyond the standard which is why we offer a Deluxe Hot Breakfast that includes Biscuits and Gravy, Eggs, Canadian Turkey-Bacon, fresh fruit, yogurt, Belgian waffles, hot and cold cereals, and so much more. The Lodge provides door-to-door service with a complimentary shuttle to the Mayo Clinic and St. Mary's Hospital during normal clinic hours. We understand our guests desire in-room conveniences which is why we have equipped each room with a microwave, refrigerator, coffeemaker, and hair dryer. Be sure to take advantage of our many on-site amenities including our 24-hour Fitness Room, Business Center, and free Wi-Fi. Dining out is easy with several nearby restaurants - many of which offer discounts to Econo Lodge guests. Whether you are coming to Rochester to visit the world renowned Mayo Clinic, for a local sporting event, or a family reunion, the Lodge will provide you with outstanding accommodations in a central Rochester location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Rochester
Rochester Econo Lodge
Econolodge Hotel Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing