We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1850 South Broadway, Rochester, MN 55904   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 56 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Super Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

My Husband and I recently stayed at the Econo Lodge in Rochester, MN, We stayed 2 nights in order to attend the Gold Rush Antique Flea Market which was just down the road. It was a great stay, the rooms were clean, very quite and comfortable, I had requested a recliner since my husband has a bad back and this seemed not to be a problem for them and they did accomedate us, unlike many other motels which don't have recliners available. The staff was excellent, very friendly and helpful, the Perkins located right next door was great. The Breakfast in the morning was very good, Rates were very affordable. They were undergoing some renovation but you would have never known it, even the construction workers were very nice and accomedating. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    38
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
36
37
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We spent two nights at this hotel and found the room to be very clean and updated. It was also very quiet. The staff was friendly, and the morning breakfast offerings were great. The location was really convenient, nice to have the Perkins restaurant right next door. The hotel was in the middle of some renovations while we were there, but it did not negatively affect our stay. We had requested a 2nd floor room and our request was fulfilled. We would definitely stay here again. Great room rates too, especially after signing up for the Choice Privileges membership program (which was free).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, North Dakota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was a nice place to stay. It was quiet and clean. The breakfast room was very good and continually stocked as people came and went. The staff were very helpful with any problems of which we had none.
We were there on a trip for Mayo Clinic and the shuttle was a great way to get to the clinic and back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebring
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed here 2 weeks. Special weekly Mayo rate available. Rooms clean,frig,microwave,coffee. Just a good basic hotel with quiet rooms. Upgrade adding elevator underway so for now you must climb stairs for 2nd floor. Very basic free breakfast. Grocery store,Perkins, Outback, etc. all within walking or short drive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for her visit to Mayo Clinic. The room was clean and nicely furnished. We got a king room with a recliner, which we especially enjoyed. It was very convenient to walk next door for dinner at Perkins. Our room was on the second floor. After my wife's surgery it was clear that we needed a room on the first floor since she would have severe trouble on stairs. I called from Mayo's in the morning to see if we could arrange this. It was graciously done even though the motel was full or nearly full and we were able to switch rooms in early afternoon. The complimentary Rochester and Minneapolis newspapers were appreciated.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so if stairs to the second floor are a problem, ask for a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael J, Owner at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for the nice review. Since purchasing the hotel over 7 years ago, we have been doing our best to improve our guests experience. The elevator issue you mentioned is now under construction and should be open by July of 2013. This will greatly improve our ability to serve our Mayo Clinic and for that matter all guests. Thanks again. Mike Jacobson Owner/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Last visit to Rochester we stayed at a different motel...not a good experience. But on the shuttle bus we rode, the folks getting on from Econo Lodge were raving about their room and the motel in general, so we booked a room for this visit and are very very glad we did. The room (and motel in general) looked and felt very clean, the bed was super comfortable, it was quiet, and even the heat in the room was SO NOT annoying - no blowing musty heater unit rattling away. Some kind of heat panel - it was quiet and not blowing air in our space. We did not even wake up with hurting backs from the beds!! I think that was a first! We will definitely be back to stay in comfort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael J, Owner at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for the nice comments. We also like our "Boiler Heat" in the winter months as it is a very quiet heat. However it will soon be coming to an end as our boiler is old and does not have the recovery speed that conventional through the wall heating/cooling systems have. We will eventualy be removing the boiler and switching entirely to the individual, "through the wall" heating and cooling systems. You can be assured that we will always mantain them very well. I wanted to let you know in advance of our future plans so you won't be disappointed.
Mike Jacobson
Owner/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here because we had appointments at Mayo clinic. The hotel is up to date, clean and the staff is super friendly. Upon checking in, we ran into two other guests and they told us what a wonderful hotel we had chosen. The week before, Rochester had received a good amount of snow, and the owners went out to the parking lot and brushed all the cars off and shoveled between the cars so it was one last thing for the guests to worry about. Also, the shuttle that goes to and from Mayo Clinic is AWESOME, saving you parking fees and looking for a parking spot. We will be staying here again and we recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael J, Owner at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments. I just wanted to let our guests know who read this that we do attempt to clean snow off cars. However we are not always able to make this happen before guests leave our property. We make decisions based on staffing, time of day or night that it snows or stops snowing, outdoor temp, future forcasts etc.
Thank you, Mike Jacobson Owner/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1850 South Broadway, Rochester, MN 55904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#6 Family Hotel in Rochester
#9 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 2014 "Hotel of the Year" by Choice Hotels International is a family owned and operated hotel. At the Lodge, we believe in going above and beyond the standard which is why we offer a Deluxe Continental Breakfast that includes fresh fruit, yogurt, Belgian waffles, hot and cold cereals, and so much more. The Lodge provides door-to-door service with a complimentary shuttle to the Mayo Clinic and St. Mary's Hospital during normal clinic hours. We understand our guests desire in-room conveniences which is why we have equipped each room with a microwave, refrigerator, coffeemaker, and hair dryer. Be sure to take advantage of our many on-site amenities including our 24-hour Fitness Room, Business Center, and free Wi-Fi. Dining out is easy with several nearby restaurants - many of which offer discounts to Econo Lodge guests. Whether you are coming to Rochester to visit the world renowned Mayo Clinic, for a local sporting event, or a family reunion, the Lodge will provide you with outstanding accommodations in a central Rochester location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Rochester
Rochester Econo Lodge
Econolodge Hotel Rochester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.